Shami, Ojha and Jadeja in 30-member India probables camp for SA series

Sep 10, 2015, 22:41 IST | Agencies

Mohammed Shami, Pragyan Ojha and Ravindra Jadeja have been included in the preparatory camp for the upcoming home series against South Africa which gets underway next month

New Delhi: Bengal pacer Mohammad Shami recuperating from shoulder surgery, left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha, back with a remodelled action, and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja were among the 30 players called by the BCCI's senior selection committee for a preparatory camp ahead of the South African team's forthcoming tour of India.

Shami has been out of reckoning after the ICC Cricket World Cup, where he played a crucial role in India's run to the semi-finals, picking up 17 wickets in seven matches at an average of 17.29, owing to a knee surgery and missed India's away series against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh besides cash-rich IPL.

Mohd Shami, Pragyan Ojha and Ravindra JadejaMohd Shami, Pragyan Ojha and Ravindra Jadeja

Left-arm spinner Ojha will look to stake claim with his remodelled action was cleared by ICC as he showed some form while playing for India A against Australia A. He is currently touring Sri Lanka with the Bengal team.

Jadeja, on the other hand, has been overlooked for India's last three series, all of which were ovreseas tours.

The 30-player list for the camp also includes Bhuvneshwar Kumar. The Uttar Pradesh seamer was ignored for the recent tour to Sri Lanka and will be raring to prove himself again in national colours.

Talented medium-pacer Mohit Sharma has also been included in the camp. The right-armer impressed the critics during the World Cup and the 26-year-old will probably be justified if he considers himself a strong candidate for selection.

The likes of Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Robin Uthappa and Virender Sehwag's names were not even considered for the 30-member probable, indictaing that they are completely out of the mix as far as selection in the senior team is concerned.

The probables list comprise of 12 specialist batsmen, three wicketkeepers, one all-rounder and 14 bowlers, including eight fast bowlers and six spinners.

In case of Shami and Wriddhiman Saha, their fitness will be assessed ahead of the gruelling 72-day series which includes four Tests, five ODIs and three T20 Internationals.

The camp will be held in Bengaluru from September 21 September 27.

Following are the names of the players:

M S Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Stuart Binny, Wriddhiman Saha, Naman Ojha, R Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Karun Nair, Suresh Raina, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Pragyan Ojha, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohit Sharma, Karn Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Dhawal Kulkarni, Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey.

Go to top