Srinivasan sets conditions for resignation

Jun 02, 2013, 09:45 IST | Harit N Joshi

BCCI chief will resign pending inquiry only if he is allowed to appoint interim president, secretary and treasurer

It’s D-Day for Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president N Srinivasan, who is under intense pressure to quit from his post following his son-in-law and Chennai Super Kings’ Team Principal Gurunath Meiyappan’s alleged involvement in the Indian Premier League betting racket.

N Srinivasan
BCCI Chief N Srinivasan. PIC/AFP

An emergency working committee meeting has been called today in Chennai at 2.30 pm when the Board members will discuss the resignation of Srinivasan.

The Tamil Nadu strong man has been batting on a sticky wicket after resignations of BCCI secretary Sanjay Jagdale and treasurer Ajay Shirke on
Friday. On Saturday, IPL chief Rajeev Shukla too joined the resignation band.  
SUNDAY MiD DAY has learnt that Srinivasan will step aside today pending inquiry. “We (top BCCI officials) have convinced him that it is better to step down till the inquiry (into his son-in-law’s alleged links with bookmakers) is not over,” a top BCCI official said on Saturday.

However, Srinivasan is not one who will surrender meekly. The official revealed that it wasn’t an easy task to bring up any resignation talk with
Srinivasan. “He has two conditions. First: His men must be secretary and treasurer. Secondly, he will decide on the appointment of interim president,” the source said.

If his conditions are not accepted, the working committee members are likely to call for a Special General Meeting (SGM) as new appointments can only be done in such meetings. An SGM can be called if 10 members, who are in favour of ousting Srinivasan, submit a letter for the same.

There are several names doing the rounds for the interim president’s post. Shivlal Yadav, vice-president for South Zone, is likely to be Srinivasan’s first choice, but there is talk that former BCCI president Shashank Manohar will be urged to take up the responsibility and rescue the sinking ship. Manohar has a clean image and his job would entail holding fort till the next AGM in September.

Although Manohar is reportedly not interested in making a comeback to the BCCI, the Nagpur-based legal expert might consider taking up the BCCI post on former Board chief Sharad Pawar’s request.

The working committee will also have to name a replacement for Jagdale, who was part of the three-member commission to probe Meiyappan’s betting links and the owners of Rajasthan Royals.

24 members of BCCI’s working committee:
President: N Srinivasan; Secretary: Sanjay Jagdale (resigned); Jt secretary: Anurag Thakur; Treasurer: Ajay Shirke (resigned); Vice-Presidents: Arun Jaitley (North), Chitrak Mitra (East), Sudhir Dabir (Central), Shivlal Yadav (South), Niranjan Shah (West); Permanent Test Centres: DDCA, TNCA, CAB, MCA, UPCA. Association of Indian Universities (North); By rotation: Andhra Cricket Association (South); Tripura Cricket Association (TCA); Saurashtra Cricket Association (West); Rajasthan Cricket Association (Central); Test matches staged in last two years: KSCA; Punjab CA, Gujarat CA, Vidarbha CA, Hyderabad CA. 

Go to top