St Lawrence finally get a taste of victory

Aug 07, 2013, 01:26 IST | Sundari Iyer

St Lawrence, Borivli came from behind to record their first win of the season in the Mumbai Schools Sports Association (MSSA) U-16 Div I tournament when they beat St Anne's, Malad 2-1 at Azad Maidan yesterday.

According to stand-in-coach Shamshad Raza, the boys were under immense pressure to perform, having lost five of their six games. 

Yash Jadhav
Yash Jadhav (R) of St Lawrence beats the goalkeeper. Pic/Atul Kamble

Malad outfit’s Sahil Koli opened the scoring in the 17th minute with a brilliant solo effort. But, their joy was short-lived as Lawrence skipper Harsh Solanki equalised in the 42nd minute. Striker Yash Jadhav scored the winner in the 59th minute.

“Today we played really well. We didn’t celebrate the win as we have a lot of work to do in order to avoid relegation. We need more wins,” said Yash.

“We were disappointed that we lost the first five matches on the trot. Luck was not on our side. Now, we need to continue winning,” added the

Badly needed
Meanwhile, Harsh was glad that the team was able to perform under pressure. “Our morale was low since we lost five matches and drew one. We needed this win badly.”

St Anne’s coach Sudhir B T said, “We couldn’t convert five clear chances. There was nothing that the team got right today. So we had to suffer this defeat.”

MSSA inter-school results
At Azad Maidan
B-U-16-I: St Francis D’Assisi (Borivali) 2 (Jash Shah, Roark Coutinho) bt Campion School (Cooperage) 1 (Abhishek Agarwal); St Dominic Savio (Andheri) 1 (Calvin Baretto) bt Christ Church (Byculla) 0; St Lawrence (Kandivli) 1 (Harsh Rall) bt St Mary’s SSC (Mazagaon) 0; Jamnabai Narsee (Juhu) 2 (Rahul Vasani, Aryan T) bt St Stanislaus (Bandra) 0; The Cathedral & John Connon (Fort) 2 (Akshat Biyani, Chatanya Mehra) bt St Joseph (Malad) 0; Don Bosco (Matunga) (2) (Mark D’Souza 1, Romario D’Souza 1) bt Bombay Scottish (Mahim) (0).

At St Xavier’s, Parel
B-U-16-III: Arya Vidyamandir (Juhu) 1 (Narayan Vijan) bt Gyan Kendra (Andheri) 0; Anza (Byculla) 1 (Ansari Kamran) bt RN Podar 0; Jamnabai Narsee 2 (Harsh Sonthalia, Shourya Mehra) bt Indian Airlines (SC) 0; Infant Jesus (Malad) 3 (Yagnesh Karkera 2, Kale Gardhar) bt Rustomjee International (Dahisar) 0. 

Go to top