Suryakumar Yadav to lead Mumbai in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Feb 24, 2014, 21:29 IST | Agencies

Batsman Suryakumar Yadav will lead Mumbai in the West Zone One-Day league, to be held from February 27 to March 3 at Rajkot

Middle-order batsman Suryakumar Yadav would be leading Mumbai in the West Zone One-Day league, to be held from February 27 to March 3 at Rajkot.

Yadav, who led India Under-23s to victory in the ACC Emerging Teams Cup in August last year, has had a good Ranji season, scoring 529 runs in eight games, including a century in the quarters against Maharashtra. The move to appoint him as captain has been done with an eye on the future.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav

The tournament would mark the return to action for Mumbai speedster Dhawal Kulkarni, who was unavailable due to injury for more than two months and missed the latter phase of the Ranji Trophy. However, first choice stumper Aditya Tare and steady middle-order batsmen Hiken Shah and Siddhesh Lad will miss the tournament due to injury, MCA secretary Nitin Dalal said.

Mumbai are to take on Baroda on the first day of the tournament followed by matches against Gujarat (February 28), Saurashtra (March 2) and Maharashtra (March 3). The top two teams from the zone will qualify for the main draw of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, which starts on March 11.

The team: Suryakumar Yadav (Capt), Abhishek Nayar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Sushant Marathe, Iqbal Abdullah, Vishal Dabholkar, Shardul Thakur, Javed Khan, Sagar Kerkar, Shoaib Shaikh, Bravish Shetty, Saurabh Netravalkar, Siddharth Chitnis, Parag Khanapurkar, Sujit Nayak. Coach: Lalchand Rajput

Harbhajan to lead Punjab

Mohali: Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh will lead the Punjab side for the North Zone one-dayers for Vijay Hazare Trophy, starting February 27.

IPL-7's most expensive player Yuvraj Singh was also named in the squad announced on Monday.

Punjab will take on Haryana in their first game on February 27 at Jamia Milia grounds in Delhi.

The squad was finalised after a five-day preparatory camp which ended at PCA stadium here, PCA's spokesperson Sushil Kapoor said.

Batsman Mandeep Singh will be the vice-captain of the side.

Squad: Harbhajan Singh (Capt), Mandeep Singh (V-C), Yuvraj Singh, Manan Vohra, Jeevanjot Singh, Gitansh Khera, Taruwar Kohli, Gurkirat Singh Mann, Manpreet Singh Gony, Sandeep Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, Sunny Sohal, Ravi Inder Singh, Himanshu Chawla, Rajwinder Singh, Gurinder Singh. Coach: Bhupinder Singh Singh

Go to top