Swapnil, Sarfaraz win title for President's XI

Apr 02, 2013, 00:50 IST | Sundari Iyer

Swapnil Mungel (47) and Sarfaraz Khan (44 not out) starred in LIC President's XI's 49-run win over ONGC West Zone in the final of the All India inter-zonal cricket tournament, conducted by All India Cricket Association for the Physically Challenged (AICAPC), at the Police Gymkhana yesterday.

In a one-sided affair, President’s XI managed to score 117 for four in their allotted 10 overs. After losing two quick wickets — of openers Atul Surve (13) and Yogesh Chavan (2) — Mungel and Khan never looked to be under pressure. 

Sarfaraz Khan
Man of the match Sarfaraz Khan hits out. Pics/Sameer Markande

They accelerated by hitting boundaries and sixes at regular intervals. Mungel’s 47 came off just 20 balls and included six towering sixes. Khan, who was adjudged the man of the match, hit four sixes.

In reply, West Zone succumbed to pressure and could only manage 68 for seven after 10 overs. Dashrath Jankhandi was the highest scorer for West Zone with 22.

Swapnil Mungel
Swapnil Mungel of LIC President’s XI slams one on the leg side

Earlier, LIC President’s XI qualified directly for the final, but there was a three-way tie for the second finalists. West Zone, GIC Central Zone and Central Bank of India South Zone were tied with nine points after the league rounds, but West Zone made the cut thanks to their better run rate (1.84).

The winners took home Rs 50,000 as prize money, while the runners-up were richer by Rs 25,000.  Atul Khokhale of West Zone was adjudged man of the series. He claimed 10 wickets and scored 99 runs in the tourney. 

Go to top