Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament: Mumbai surrender to Maharashtra, once again

Apr 03, 2014, 22:08 IST | PTI

Maharashtra, who have beaten Mumbai in the Ranji Trophy quarter-final and in the Vijay Hazare Trophy one-dayers, continue domination over arch-rivals with by 30-run win by VJD method

Maharashtra kept their qualifying homes alive by overwhelming hosts Mumbai by 30 runs by VJD method for their second win in three games.

Maharashtra, who had beaten arch-rivals Mumbai in the Ranji Trophy quarter-final and in the Vijay Hazare Trophy one-dayers, once again exerted their domination with a good all-round display.

Vijay Zol
Vijay Zol top-scored for Maharashtra with 48. File Pic

In a match reduced to 18-over each because of a malfunctioning light tower, Maharashtra opted to bat first and rode on a 90-run opening stand between India under-19 captain Vijay Zol (48 in 41 balls) and Harshad Khadiwale (47 in 40 balls) to notch up a challenging score of 139 for 2.

Both the wickets were grabbed by Zaheer Khan after which Kedar Jadhav made an unbeaten 27 in 17 balls with a six and two fours.

Rahul Tripathi compiled 13 not out in 10 balls. Chasing the target, which was revised to 144 under VJD method,

Mumbai were halted at 113 for 7.

The hosts were rocked by a double strike by Domnic Muthuswami, who sent back left handers Sushant Marathe and Kevin Almeida cheaply to leave the hosts at 29 for 2 in the 4th over.

Shrikant Mundhe reduced Mumbai to 66 for 5 in the 11th over by capturing the wickets of Aditya Tare (26 in 21 balls), Sarfaraz Khan and Abhishek Nayar before Sujit Nayak was run out to leave Mumbai on the brink of defeat.

Suryakumar Yadav made the top score of 38 in 31 balls with four fours and a six.

Mumbai completed their engagements with two wins and as many losses and now depend on the results of the last two games tomorrow to see whether they qualify or not for the knockout stage.

Brief scores: Maharashtra 139 fo 2 in 18 overs (Harshad Khadiwale 47, Vijay Zol 48, Kedar Jadhav not out 27; Zaheer Khan 2 for 20) beat Mumbai 113 for 7 in 18 overs (Aditya Tare 26, Suryakumar Yadav 38; D Muthuswami 2 for 23, S Mundhe 3 for 25) by 30 runs via VJD method

Go to top