Team India's unique style of announcing Ind-NZ schedule rocks!

Jun 28, 2016, 16:40 IST | mid-day online correspondent

Some of Team India's top cricketers take to Twitter to announce the beginning of the team's home season. Yes. That's right. Not the same old press meets or releases for BCCI any more. It's the smart and new-age way of social media to connect to fans directly

The full schedule of the upcoming New Zealand tour of India that will kick start the Team India's home season was announced on Tuesday. 

So what? Most people already knew the schedule. Well, the manner in which the schedule was announced shows how the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is changing under the leadership of young Anurag Thakur. 

So what was so special, you may ask? It's unique and special because some of Team India's top cricketers took to Twitter to announce the beginning of the team's home season.

Yes. That's right. Not the same old press conference or press release for BCCI any more. It's the smart and new-age way of social media to connect to the fans directly.

(Clockwise from top left): Ajinkya Rahane, Mohammad Shami, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Anil Kumble and R Ashwin. 

It starts with a three-Test series against New Zealand before taking on the Black Caps in a five-match ODI series.

The Kiwis will play India in September-October after the Men in Blue return from West Indies.

Indore's Holkar Stadium will host the opening Test of the India vs New Zealand series. This is the first time that the city made famous by the likes of Indian cricket legends like CK Nayudu, Mushtaq Ali and in more recent years a stalwart like Narendra Hirwani, will finally host a Test match.

India Test skipper Virat Kohli announced the dates for the first match on Twitter -- to be played at Kanpur's Green Park stadium from September 22-26. Batsman Ajinkya Rahane revealed that the second Test will be held at the Holkar Stadium in Indore from September 30-October 4, while seamer Mohammad Shami's tweeted that the iconic Eden Gardens has been given the third and final Test from October 8-12.

Kohli said, "TeamIndia will begin the home season at one of the oldest venues in the country - KANPUR vs. @BLACKCAPS #IndvNZ 1st Test starts Sept 22."

"The land of great Syed Mushtaq Ali will host its 1st ever Test Match. Indore is waiting 4 the moment. #IndvNZ 2nd
Test Match starts Sept 30," Rahane posted on Twitter.

Rishi Dhawan, Shikhar Dhawan, Mandeep Singh, R Ashwin announced the schedule for the ODIs. Dharamsala will host the first of the five ODIs on October 16, while Delhi (October 19), Mohali (October 23), Ranchi (October 26) and Visakhapatnam (October 29) will organise the other matches.

Newly appointed chief coach Anil Kumble asked Team India supporters to turn up for the final ODI in the port city of Visakhapatnam to cheer the side. "Vizag is all set to host the final ODI of the series against Kiwis #IndvNZ on Oct 29. Turn up at the stadium and support #TeamIndia @BCCI," Kumble said.

This style of announcing the schedule on social media is an acknowledgement of the new-age shift towards such platforms and the wide reach they have.

Hope this is just the first step towards the BCCI changing its spots and becoming more fan-friendly and not just a flash in the pan.


BCCI revises India-Kiwi Test series itinerary

New Delhi: The BCCI on Tuesday swapped the venues for the second and the third Test matches against New Zealand while the first match will be hosted in Kanpur from September 22.

The board had earlier announced Indore's Holkar Stadium as the venue for the second Test from September 30 to October 4 and Kolkata's Eden Gardens for the third and final match from October 8 to 12.

But with Durga Puja celebrations clashing with the third Test, the iconic Eden Gardens will host the second Test from September 30 while the third match will be played in Indore from October 8.

There were no changes for the other fixures. Dharamsala will host the first ODI on October 16 and Delhi's Ferozeshah Kotla the second on October 19.

Mohali will host the third game on October 23 while the fourth and fifth matches will be played at Ranchi and Visakhapatnam on October 26 and 29 respectively. - IANS

Go to top