Three ineligible SSC students allowed to give HSC exams

Apr 10, 2013, 04:49 IST | Niranjan Medhekar

Recognition of junior college in Sangvi in jeopardy as students hadn't cleared SSC backlog in two attempts and should have been rejected

In an inquiry carried out by district education officials, it has been revealed that three students of Mrityunjay Education Society Junior College, Sangvi, who appeared for HSC board exams, were not eligible as they had not cleared certain SSC subjects in time.

In the eye of storm: Mrityunjay Education Society Junior College

According to State Board’s Allowed To Keep Term (ATKT) scheme, initiated in 2008 for Std X students, any student who fails in maximum of two subjects in the SSC exam can take admission in Std XI. However, the student has to clear the SSC subjects in next two attempts or lose the Std XI admission.

In this case, all three students could not clear their SSC backlogs in their second attempt as well. They cleared it in their third attempt but their admissions were not cancelled by the concerned junior college.

K D Bhujbal, the extension education officer, said, “All the three students are guilty. I have demanded in my report submitted to education officer of ZP that a detailed inquiry of the college should be carried out.”

Meanwhile, Suresh Pardeshi, Principal of Mrityunjay Education Society, has claimed that at the time of HSC exam form filling, all the three students had submitted their SSC mark sheet in which they had passed all backlog subjects.

He said, “We checked their SSC exam marklist during the HSC form filling. Till then, they had cleared their backlogs. So I don’t think there would be any problem. Till now I have not received any inquiry report from government officials.”

However, the state board will withhold the HSC result of all three students. “This is a clear-cut breach of rules of the state board. The recognition of the concerned junior college also may get cancelled as the college is responsible for this grave error,” said Anil Gunjal, Additional Secretary of the Pune divisional board.

Go to top