Transportation safety panel formed by only 10% of district schools

Jun 19, 2012, 09:19 IST | Sukirt D. Gumaste

It has been revealed that only 10 per cent of the schools in the district have formed the mandatory school transportation safety committee.


The traffic police department and Regional Transport Office met at the commissioner’s office yesterday to discuss school transportation safety regulations. Representatives of state and PMC education department, DCP (Traffic) Vishwas Pandhare, Meeran Borwankar, the outgoing commissioner of police, and Deputy Regional Transport Officer Sanjay Dhaygude were present at the meeting. 
The RTO and the traffic police said that school transportation was the responsibility of every school and it should maintain all necessary records of schools buses, vans or other modes of transport. “Schools should follow all the norms of school safety regulation and hold a meeting after regular intervals,” Dhaygude said. “Schools cannot avoid the responsibility.”  
Borwankar asked representatives of the education board what action was taken against schools that had not formed a transportation committee so far. She said strict action should be taken by the education board against schools failed to comply.  Pandhare said the board should send a proper action plan and detailed report on school transportation, on or before July 31.
Figure it out
>> Number of schools in district: 3,500
>> Number of schools that have formed school transportation safety committee: 341 (115 in city, 161 in Pimpri-Chinchwad and 65 in rural areas) 

Go to top