Trend to field in IPL opener continues

Apr 04, 2013, 07:33 IST | IANS

As the sixth season of the IPL dawned at the Eden Gardens here yesterday, Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir after winning the toss, chose to field against Delhi Daredevils to continue the tradition of teams electing to bowl first in the opening game

Only Chennai Super Kings had broken the tradition by opting to bat first in 2011.

Ever since the cricket extravaganza began in 2008, all the captains except for CSK’s MS Dhoni have elected to field after winning the toss. In 2011, after batting first CSK had won the match against KKR.

Yesterday’s match witnessed a first ball dismissal when Delhi’s Unmukt Chand was castled by Brett Lee. This is only the second time when a wicket has fallen on the first ball in an opening game. 

Go to top