Unbelievable! Is Kieron Pollard's acrobatic effort 'Catch of IPL-7'?
Kieron Pollard gave cricket lovers much to cheer about as he took one of the most stunning catches of IPL 7 so far during Mumbai Indians' clash against Rajasthan Royals at Motera
When Kolkata Knight Rider's Chris Lynn’s took a stunner to dismiss RCB’s AB de Villiers last month few would have thought it possible that anyone could top the Australian. But Mumbai Indians’ Kieron Pollard did just that on Monday to send back Rajasthan Royals’ Kevon Cooper.
Kieron Pollard is about to go over the ropes after taking one-hander to dismiss Kevon Cooper of Rajasthan Royals off Harbhajan Singh at Motera on Monday. PICS/Nirav Trivedi
Mumbai Indians’ Kieron Pollard on Monday showed tremendous presence of mind to take what many fans will describe as ‘Catch of IPL-7’ as his acrobatics saw the back of Kevon Cooper during his team’s clash against Rajasthan Royals.
The 6 ft 5 in tall Trinidadian put his height to good use, displaying athleticism and cricketing acumen that left fans giddy with delight.
Pollard tosses the ball back above his head as he jumps over the ropes. His teammates wonder whether he will make it.
The Mumbai Indians’ all-rounder jumped up near the long-on boundary to pluck the ball from thin air.
Pollard turns and dives to catch the ball he threw back into play as the umpire (right) watches.
Normally, Pollard’s one-handed grab with the ball behind him would have been special enough, but what happened next made it even more special.
Having one-handedly caught the dangerous Kevon Cooper, Pollard then started to lose balance. Aware of his position, the Trinidadian threw the ball into the air as he went over the ropes. He then dived back in to complete one of the most stunning catches of this IPL season.
Harbhajan Singh, who was the bowler, was over the moon, at his teammate’s effort.
Pollard completes the brilliant catch by falling on his right elbow. Thus, Cooper is dismissed. The decision is referred to the third umpire, who makes a decision in favour of Pollard.
The Mumbai Indians had to wait a while before celebrating though as the decision was referred to the third umpire, who ruled in favour of Pollard.