Van Dijk: It was a clear dive

Updated: 05 February, 2018 20:40 IST | PA Sport | Liverpool

Liverpool's club-record signing Virgil accuses Harry Kane of diving to win a penalty during his team's 2-2 draw against Spurs in Premier League

Tottenham's Harry Kane after being fouled in the penalty area during the Premier League match against Tottenham last night. Pic /Getty Images
Tottenham's Harry Kane after being fouled in the penalty area during the Premier League match against Tottenham last night. Pic/ Getty Images

Liverpool's club-record signing Virgil van Dijk believes Harry Kane dived to win a penalty in the 2-2 draw at Anfield last night.
Referee Jon Moss ruled Tottenham's England international had been brought down after the slightest of touches from goalkeeper Loris Karius after being controversially allowed to play on despite being in an offside position.

Kane missed the penalty but redeemed himself from the spot deep into added time after Van Dijk was adjudged to have fouled Erik Lamela -- the striker's 100th Premier League goal.

However, the world's most expensive defender thinks Kane was lucky to get the first award, especially after Dele Alli had been booked for diving in the box moments earlier -- his third such transgression since his debut in 2015-16.

"I think it is a dive. You see him [Kane] diving clearly and no-one is talking about it but I think it is a dive," said Van Dijk.
"There is a lot of discussion about whether it is offside, yes or no, but I think it was offside as well.

"You could just see him making that dive. The referee made his decision together with the linesman. It was good for us that it got saved."

Asked whether he thought Kane should be retrospectively punished the Holland international added: "That is not something for me.

"I thought it was a dive that is my opinion and the referee thought it was no offside and no dive and he gave a pen. Good for us that we saved it."

Virgil van Dijk
Virgil van Dijk 

Van Dijk was also unhappy with the award of the second penalty when Lamela went down as the Dutchman tried to clear the ball.
"I saw him coming in the end and I try and hold my leg in, he just pulled his body in front of the ball and he goes down," he said.
"The ref said play on and I was very disappointed that the linesman said otherwise.

"I don't think that is a penalty, same with the first one. That is also clearly not a penalty."

The match was an entertaining one for the neutrals with Mohamed Salah's brilliant second of the match, a twisting, turning effort past three defenders, matched by the power of substitute Victor Wanyama's piledriver which made it 1-1 at the time.

"It was a good game for the fans to watch. For us obviously we are disappointed that we didn't get the win in the end," said Van Dijk.

Catch up on all the latest sports news and updates here

Download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get updates on all the latest and trending stories on the go

Trending Video

First Published: 05 February, 2018 20:32 IST

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK