Vettel surprise after Korea GP win

Oct 17, 2011, 08:17 IST | AFP

Sebastian Vettel surprised at pulling off win despite last week's victory bash hangover

Sebastian Vettel surprised at pulling off win despite last week's victory bash hangover

Double world champion Sebastian Vettel won the Korean Grand Prix in crushing fashion yesterday to help his Red Bull team retain the Formula One constructors' title after a dominant season. Just a week after cruising to third place in Japan, where Vettel confirmed himself as the 2011 drivers' world champion, the 24-year-old German was uncatchable as he drove to his 10th win this year, and 20th of his career. "This is special for us all, for the whole team," he said. "It was not such an easy race, but we did it. After the drivers, the constructors' -- it's fantastic."

Splendid: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel after winning the Korean GP
yesterday. Pic/AFP

Vettel started second on the grid, but took the lead from Briton Lewis Hamilton of McLaren on the opening lap to pull clear and produce a flawless drive to the chequered flag. He came home in a winning time of one hour, 38 minutes and 1.994 seconds, 12.019 ahead of Hamilton, who managed to stay ahead of Vettel's Red Bull team-mate Mark Webber. The Australian finished third, ensuring Red Bull clinched their second successive team title, ahead of Briton Jenson Button in the second McLaren, and two-time champion Spaniard Fernando Alonso of Ferrari.

Felipe Massa was sixth in the second Ferrari ahead of Jaime Alguersuari of Toro Rosso, Nico Rosberg of Mercedes, Sebastian Buemi of Toro Rosso and British rookie Paul Di Resta. Vettel showed he has no intention of easing off as he bids to equal Schumacher's record of 13 wins in a season. "In terms of preparation it was not ideal because most of us were tipsy after Sunday night but we deserved that. But to come here and have a tough Friday and a tough Saturday morning, and to come back in qualifying and in the race was fantastic," he said.

1: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
2: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)
3: Mark Webber (Red Bull)
4: Jenson Button (McLaren)
5: Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
6: Felipe Massa (Ferrari)
7: Jaime Alguersuari (Toro Rosso)
8: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes GP)
9: Sebastien Buemi (Toro Rosso)
10: Paul di Resta (Force India)
11: Adrian Sutil (Force India)

Go to top