Wasim Jaffer has a total of 10 Ranji Trophy titles to his name!

Updated: Feb 08, 2019, 13:49 IST | Agencies |

Jaffer won eight titles with Mumbai from 1996-97 to 2012-13 and two with Vidarbha

Wasim Jaffer
Wasim Jaffer

Wasim Jaffer yesterday became the fifth Indian player to be a part of 10 Ranji Trophy titles after Vidarbha defeated Saurashtra by 78 runs. Mumbai's Ashok Mankad won 12 times, Ajit Wadekar (11), Manohar Hardikar (10) and Dilip Sardesai (10).

Jaffer won eight titles with Mumbai from 1996-97 to 2012-13 and two with Vidarbha. Jaffer, who scored four centuries in 11 matches, ended the Ranji season with 1,037 runs at an average of 69.13.

In this process, he became the first player to score 1,000-plus runs twice in a Ranji Trophy season. He had scored 1,260 runs in the 2008-09 season while playing for Mumbai. "I never thought I will win two titles with Vidarbha after playing 10 finals [eight with Mumbai]," said Jaffer, who moved to Vidarbha in 2015.

Catch up on all the latest sports news and updates here. Also download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get latest updates

This story has been sourced from a third party syndicated feed, agencies. Mid-day accepts no responsibility or liability for its dependability, trustworthiness, reliability and data of the text. Mid-day management/mid-day.com reserves the sole right to alter, delete or remove (without notice) the content in its absolute discretion for any reason whatsoever

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com


Snooker champ Aditya Mehta: Pro Snooker is cut-throat but that's what I live for

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK