West Indies opt to bat first at Eden Gardens

Published: 06 November, 2013 08:57 IST | IANS |

West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss and opted to bat in the first Test match against India at the Eden Gardens here Wednesday

Batsman Rohit Sharma and pacer Mohammad Shami are making their Test match debuts for India.

For West Indies, pacer Kemar Roach is not playing due to injury, and Sheldon Cotterell will play in his place.

The teams are as follows.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, R. Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pragyan Ojha, Mohammed Shami, Rohit Sharma.

West Indies: Darren Sammy (Captain), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sheldon Cotterell, Chris Gayle, Veersammy Permaul, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels,, Shane Shillingford.

Umpires: Nigel Long (England) and Richard Kettleborough (England)

Third umpire: Vineet Kulkarni (India)

Fourth umpire: Subrat Das (India)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)

Match timings: 9.00- 11.00 a.m., 11.40- 13.40 p.m., 2.00- 4.00 p.m. 

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK