Why did Salim Khan refuse to accept the Padma Shri award?

Jan 26, 2015, 11:00 IST | Bharati Dubey

Salim Khan has turned down the Padma Shri award bestowed on him by the government of India

Writer Salim Khan has refused to accept the Padma Shri honour, the fourth highest civilan award in the country. Speaking to hitlist, he says, "Now they are offering me the award that the others received much earlier. My contribution to cinema has been much more than what is being offered to me (as an acknowledgment). So, I have refused to accept it."

Salim Khan
Salim Khan

Writer Udaya Tara Nayar agrees with Khan's argument. She says, "People from the film industry who are very junior to him have got this award. That includes Madhuri Dixit, Saif Ali Khan and a few other actors. Just because he supported the BJP (during elections), it does not mean that they can give any award to him. If they wanted to honour him, they could have given him the Padma Bhushan or Padma Vibhushan."

Meanwhile, thespian Dilip Kumar, who was conferred the Padma Bhushan in 1991, will receive the Padma Vibhushan, confirms his wife and veteran actress, Saira Banu. Amitabh Bachchan's name apparently also figures in the list of Padma Vibhushan awardees this year.

The Hindi film industry has been recommending Dilip Kumar's name for the Bharat Ratna honour for more than five years now but is yet to get a response from the government. The same holds true for Dadasaheb Phalke too.

Bollywood's Padma Shri winners

>> Vidya Balan and Paresh Rawal - 2014
>> Kajol and Irrfan - 2011
>> Saif Ali Khan - 2010
>> Madhuri Dixit - 2008
>> Javed Akhtar - 1997
>> Aamir Khan - 2003
>> Shah Rukh Khan - 2005

Go to top