With Modi wave this election, Congress heirs fail to retain their seats

May 19, 2014, 06:44 IST | Agencies

As the Modi wave flooded the country during the Lok Sabha elections, many sons and daughters of prominent Congress leaders failed to retain their power strongholds

New Delhi: This year’s Lok Sabha elections saw many of the sons and daughters of Congress leaders failing to retain their family strongholds as party’s tally dipped to a historic low of 44 seats out of 543. Prominent among those who lost the elections are Sachin Pilot, Karti Chidambaram, Sandeep Dikshit, Milind Deora, Priya Dutt and Jitin Prasada.

Lost out

Sachin Pilot, son of former Union Minister late Rajesh Pilot, contested from Rajasthan’s Ajmer constituency. Sachin, Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Corporate Affairs in the outgoing UPA government, lost to BJP’s Sanwar Lal Jat by a margin of about 1.71 lakh votes. Finance Minister P Chidambaram’s son Karti also lost elections from Tamil Nadu’s Sivaganga constituency.

Karti, who had made a debut in the polls from Sivaganga (represented by his father in last Lok Sabha elections), came in fourth position by securing 1,04,678 votes. The constituency has been won by All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam candidate Senthilnathan PR. Kerala Governor and former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit’s son Sandeep lost East Delhi constituency. Sandeep, who lost to BJP’s Maheish Girri (5,72,202 votes), came at third position by getting 2,03,240 votes. Aam Aadmi Party’s Rajmohan Gandhi got 3,81,739 votes.

Congress Rajya Sabha MP from Maharashtra and former Cabinet Minister in UPA government Murli Deora’s son Milind could not retain South-Mumbai constituency. Milind, Minister of State for Communication and Information Technology and also for Shipping, lost to Shiv Sena’s Arvind Sawant by a margin of 1,28,148 votes.

Former Congress Union minister and late actor Sunil Dutt’s daughter Priya failed to retain Maharashtra’s Mumbai-North-Central seat. Priya lost to BJP’s Poonam Mahajan, daughter of former Union Minister late Pramod Mahajan, by 1,86,771 votes.

Jitin Prasada, son of Congress leader late Jitendra Prasada, lost from Uttar Pradesh’s Dhaurahra constituency. Jitin, who was Minister of State for Human Resource Development in the government, which resigned yesterday, secured fourth position by getting 1,70,994 votes. BJP’s Rekha won from Dhaurahra constituency.

First-time voters

New Delhi: The thumping victory of BJP in the just concluded 2014 Lok Sabha elections can be credited to the 2.31 crore first-time voters to some extent, who came out in large numbers to exercise their franchise.

According to a report, the BJP received 39% support from the first time voters, in comparison to Congress who could only secure 19% votes from them.

Out of 81.45 crore voters, 2.31 crore belonged to the age-group of 18-19 years, around 2.7% of the total voters, according to figures released by the Election Commission. Expecting this trend, major political parties had devised a planned campaign to appeal to youngsters, particularly those who have just registered as voters.

Besides the conventional mediums of campaigning, social media was given a great importance in reaching out to the youths.

Go to top