World Cup 2015: Pakistan ignore Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal, recall Sohail Khan

Updated: 07 January, 2015 19:02 IST | Agencies |

Pakistan included fast bowler Sohail Khan and all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez but left out senior players Shoaib Malik and Kamran Akmal in the 15-man cricket World Cup squad named Wednesday

Karachi: Senior players Shoaib Malik and Kamran Akmal were ignored while fast bowler Sohail Khan made a comeback after nearly three years in wilderness in Pakistan's 15-member squad for the ODI cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand starting February 14.

Kamran Akmal (left) and Shoaib Malik. Pic/AFP

The six member selection committee, after intense deliberations with captain Misbah-ul-Haq and head coach Waqar Younis in Karachi, decided not to repose confidence in stalwarts such as Malik and Akmal who have been in prime form this domestic season.

Instead the selectors have put their confidence in a bunch of young players to spearhead Pakistan's campaign in the World Cup.

Among the 15, batsmen Sohaib Maqsood and Haris Sohail and bowlers Junaid Khan, Muhammad Irfan, Sohail Khan, Ehsan Adil and Yasir Shah have yet to play in Australia or New Zealand.

"We have picked a balanced squad without any personal likes or dislikes and we considered all options without any grouses," chief selector, Moin Khan told a news conference at the national stadium. He said the selectors had decided to lay faith in the
youngsters keeping in mind the conditions, climate, opposition and travel schedule of the team in the World Cup.

Sohail Khan, a right-arm fast bowler, has appeared in just two Tests and five One-day internationals and his last appearance for Pakistan was in Zimbabwe in 2011 but he has been in outstanding form this domestic season for Port Qasim Authority.

The 30-year-old Sohail Khan wasn't included in the 30-man preliminary squad, but was picked for his strong performances in domestic cricket this season after spending three years away from the national team.

Sohail, who last played for Pakistan in 2011, took six wickets in a match of the ongoing
Pentangular Cup on Tuesday in Karachi.

Interestingly, Sohail's bowling action was declared illegal by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in December, last year.

He was picked only as a batsman after he failed his unofficial test to rectify his bowling action in a bio-mechanics scrutiny in Chennai recently.

Moin said the selectors had decided to go with a battery of pace bowlers while the spin department would be headed by experienced all-rounder Shahid Afridi.

"We have picked leg spinner, Yasir Shah because he has lots of potential," Moin said. Shah had just played a single ODI also in 2011 in Zimbabwe but was outstanding against Australia and New Zealand in the recent Test series in the UAE taking 27 wickets. It is after a long time that Pakistan will go into a major ODI event with two leg-spinners.

"This is the best possible squad from the available resources, and the selectors believe it has the requisite talent and skill-set to recapture the World Cup Down Under after 22 years", Moin said.

Moin said Pakistan would miss the bowling of Saeed Ajmal and Muhammad Hafeez due to suspensions on them for suspect actions but the available resources were also adequate for the event. Shah ended with 27 wickets in the five Tests against Australia and New Zealand recently in the UAE.

Moin said Hafeez could still be cleared to bowl in the World Cup as he is still working hard on correcting his action and there was one month left before the World Cup.

"We have time as we play two ODIs in New Zealand before the World Cup," he added. Hafeez has made the squad as a specialist opener in the final squad.

"We have picked only two specialist openers while wicketkeeper, Sarfaraz Ahmed will be the reserve opener when required," Moin added. Pakistan's qualifying group includes India, West Indies, South Africa, Ireland, Zimbabwe and UAE.

Pakistan World Cup squad: Muhammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq (Capt), Haris Sohail, Umar Akmal, Sohaib Maqsood, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Junaid Khan, Muhammad Irfan, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz, Ehsan Adil and Yasir Shah.

First Published: 07 January, 2015 17:10 IST

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK