WT20: Netherlands shock dismal England

Mar 31, 2014, 19:20 IST | Agencies

The Netherlands produce the biggest upset of the ICC World Twenty20 as they hand a listless England side an embarrassing 45-run defeat in an inconsequential Super-10 match

Chittagong (Bangladesh): The Netherlands upset 2010 champions England by 45 runs at the World Twenty20 in Chittagong on Monday, with paceman Mudassar Bukhari and Logan van Beek taking three wickets apiece.

Bukhari took 3-12 while van Beek finished with 3-9 to bowl England out for a paltry 88 in 17.4 overs, after they were set a modest target of 134 to chase in their last group one Super-10 match at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury stadium.

England, who chased 190 to beat Sri Lanka in their only win in the tournament, never looked comfortable, despite the inexperienced Dutch bowling.

Mudassar Bukhari with Wesley BarresiNetherlands bowler Mudassar Bukhari (R) celebrates the wicket of England batsman Stuart Broad with wicketkeeper Wesley Barresi (L) during their ICC World Twenty20 tournament match at The Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Monday. Pic/AFP

Ravi Bopara (18), Chris Jordan (14) and Alex Hales (12) were the only batsmen who reached double figures in an otherwise disappointing batting display.

Bukhari jolted England with two early wickets -- Michael Lumb (six) and Hales by the fifth over -- before dismissing Stuart Broad (four) to help his team repeat their upset win over England in the opening round of the 2009 World Twenty20, held in England.

Van Beek then came into his own, dismissing Jos Buttler (six), Bopara and Jordan in his short two-over spell.

Earlier, Wesley Barresi top-scored with a 45-ball 48 studded with two boundaries and two sixes to take the Netherlands to 133-5 in 20 overs after they were put into bat.

Barresi added 50 for the second wicket with Stephan Myburgh, who made a brisk 31-ball 39 with six boundaries and a six.

Medium-pacer Ravi Bopara, who conceded just 15 in his four overs, dismissed Myburgh in the 12th over, while Broad had Michael Swart (13), Tom Cooper (eight) and Peter Borren (seven) to give England hopes of finishing the tournament with a win.

Both sides lacked motivation as England, who lost two of their first three games, and the Netherlands, defeated in all three, were already out of the semi-finals.

South Africa had qualified for the last four stage, while Sri Lanka and New Zealand will vie for the other semi-final spot from group one in Chittagong later Monday.

Title-holders the West Indies and Pakistan meet in Dhaka on Tuesday to decide who joins India in the semis from group two.


The Netherlands:

M. Swart c Parry b Broad 13

S. Myburgh c Hales b Bopara 39

W. Barresi b Jordan 48

T. Cooper c Jordan b Broad 8

P. Borren c Parry b Broad 7

Mudassar Bukhari not out 1

B. Cooper not out 0

Extras: (b4, lb7, w6) 17

Total: (five wickets; 20 overs) 133

Did not bat: L. van Beek, T.van der Gugten, P. Seelaar, Ahsan Malik

Fall of wickets: 1-34 (Swart), 2-84 (Myburgh), 3-110 (T. Cooper), 4-131 (Borren), 5-131 (Barresi)

Bowling: Ali 1-0-13-0, Bresnan 2-0-11-0 (1w), Jordan 3-0-13-1 (1w), Broad 4-0-24-3 (2w), Tredwell 4-0-23-0 (1w), Parry 2-0-23-0, Bopara 4-0-15-1



A. Hales b Bukhari 12

M. Lumb c T. Cooper b Bukhari 6

Moeen Ali c T. Cooper b Borren 3

E. Morgan c Borren b van der Gugten 6

J. Buttler c Seelaar b van Beek 6

R. Bopara c Seelaar b van Beek 18

T. Bresnan run out 5

C. Jordan c Swart b van Beek 14

S. Broad c Barresi b Bukhari 4

J. Tredwell run out 8

S. Parry not out 1

Extras: (lb2, w3) 5

Total: (all out; 17.4 overs) 88

Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Lumb), 2-19 (Hales), 3-26 (Morgan), 4-32 (Ali), 5-42 (Buttler), 6-52 (Bresnan), 7-74 (Bopara), 8-76 (Jordan), 9-86 (Broad).

Bowling: Swart 1-0-8-0, van der Gugten 3-0-11-1 (1w), Bukhari 3.4-0-12-3, Malik 3-0-14-0, Borren 3-0-18-1, van Beek 2-0-9-3, Seelaar 2-0-14-0 (2w)


The Netherlands won by 45 runs

Toss: England

Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS) and Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Tv umpire: Aleem Dar (PAK)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Go to top