WWE NXT TakeOver XXX: 30 fun and exciting facts you must know

Updated: 21 August, 2020 13:21 IST | mid-day online correspondent | Mumbai

As we geat up for the much-awaited 30th NXT pay-per-view in NXT, NXT XXX on August 22, here are 30 fun and interesting facts you may not know about

Charlotte Flair and Seth Rollins. All Pictures Courtesy/ WWE
Charlotte Flair and Seth Rollins. All Pictures Courtesy/ WWE

With WWE’s 30th NXT TakeOver Event right around the corner, we have put together 30 of the most exciting things you need to know about NXT in the lead up to the event.

1. NXT first debuted in 2010 as a reality-show inviting contestants to compete for the chance to win a WWE contract. Each episode featured the rookie contestants being mentored by WWE Superstars in a series of physical and mental challenges.

2. As part of NXT’s original incarnation, The Miz was a mentor to a then competing Daniel Bryan. Other featured rookie talent included Titus O’Neil and Byron Saxton.

3. There have been 19 NXT Championship reigns with 17 different champions.
Seth Rollins
Big E
Bo Dallas
Adrian Neville
Sami Zayn
Kevin Owens
Finn Bálor
Samoa Joe (x2)
Shinsuke Nakamura (x2)
Bobby Roode
Drew McIntyre
Aleister Black
Tommaso Ciampa
Johnny Gargano
Adam Cole
Keith Lee

4. Seth Rollins became the first-ever NXT Champion in 2012 after defeating Jinder Mahal.

Seth RollinsSeth Rollins

5. NXT’s Championships have been won in:

6. In 2016 at NXT TakeOver: Toronto, Samoa Joe was the first NXT Superstar to become a 2-time NXT Champion after defeating Shinsuke Nakamura.

Samoa JoeSamoa Joe

7. Adam Cole holds the record for the longest reigning NXT Champion (403 days) followed by Finn Bálor (292 days).

Adam ColeAdam Cole

8. After appearing in the front row at NXT TakeOver: Orlando, Drew McIntyre re-signed with the company and joined the NXT roster. At NXT TakeOver: Brooklyn III in August 2017 he defeated Bobby Roode to become NXT Champion. Drew McIntyre is the first WWE Superstar to win the NXT Championship having previously been on RAW & SmackDown, and the first Scotsman to do so.

Drew McIntyreDrew McIntyre

9. The NXT Women’s Championship was introduced on April 5, 2013. Paige became the inaugural NXT Women’s Champion following an eight-woman single-elimination tournament.


10. There have been 12 NXT Women’s Championship reigns with 10 different champions.
Charlotte Flair (x2)
Sasha Banks
Ember Moon
Shayna Baszler (x2)
Kairi Sane
Rhea Ripley
Io Shirai

11. Asuka holds the record for the longest single reign as NXT Women’s Champion (522 days) followed by Shayna Baszler (416 days).


12. The NXT North American Championship was introduced in 2018 and won by inaugural champion Adam Cole.

13. There have been 6 NXT North American Championship reigns with 6 different champions.
Adam Cole
Johnny Gargano
Velveteen Dream
Roderick Strong
Keith Lee
…next to be decided at NXT TakeOver XXX in a 5-man Ladder Match

14. The NXT Tag Team Championship was introduced in 2013 and won by inaugural champions British Ambition (Adrian Neville and Oliver Grey).

15. There have been 21 NXT Tag Team Championship reigns with 18 Tag Teams composed of 37 members. The shortest recorded reign belongs to Moustache Mountain (Tyler Bate and Trent Seven) at 22 days.

16. Full Sail University in Winter Park, Florida, is the regular home of NXT. The partnership between Full Sail and WWE also sees contributions made to a scholarship fund for students enrolled at the university.

17. In February 2014, NXT held a 2-hour event, NXT ArRIVAL, which was the first live wrestling event on WWE Network.

Tommaso Ciampa and Johnny GarganoTommaso Ciampa and Johnny Gargano

18. In 2014, William Regal was revealed as the new General Manager of NXT and has been in the role ever since.

19. The first NXT event on WWE Network under the TakeOver brand was in May 2014, from Full Sail University. The show included Charlotte Flair (with Ric Flair) defeating Natalya (with Bret Hart) for the vacant NXT Women’s Championship.

20. On August 22, 2015, NXT held its first TakeOver outside Full Sail University with NXT TakeOver: Brooklyn, from Barclays Center.

21. NXT TakeOver events have been held in Orlando, Brooklyn, London, Dallas, Toronto, San Antonio, Chicago, Houston, Philadelphia, New Orleans, Los Angeles, Phoenix, Bridgeport and Portland.

22. The first NXT TakeOver event held outside the USA was NXT TakeOver: London on December 16, 2015, from The SSE Arena, Wembley.

23. NXT TakeOver: London saw Finn Bálor defend the NXT Championship against Samoa Joe in a singles match in the main event.

Finn BalorFinn Balor

24. At NXT TakeOver: Brooklyn in 2015, NXT Women’s Champion Sasha Banks defended her Title against Bayley in one of two main events. Sasha Banks vs Bayley went on to be voted Match of the Year at the NXT Year-end Awards.

Sasha BanksSasha Banks

25. Survivor Series 2019, from the Allstate Arena in Chicago, was the first Survivor Series event to include the NXT brand and the first to feature three-way Survivor Series elimination matches.

26. At Survivor Series 2019:
Team NXT (Rhea Ripley, Bianca Belair, Candice LeRae, Io Shirai and Toni Storm) defeated Team RAW (Charlotte Flair, Natalya, Asuka, Kairi Sane and Sarah Logan) and Team SmackDown (Sasha Banks, Carmella, Dana Brooke, Lacey Evans and Nikki Cross) in a 5-on-5-on-5 Women’s Survivor Series Triple Threat Elimination Match
Roderick Strong defeated AJ Styles and Shinsuke Nakamura in a Champions Triple Threat Match
Shayna Baszler defeated Becky Lynch and Bayley in a Champions Triple Threat Match.

NXT female superstarsNXT female superstars Rhea Ripley, Bianca Belair, Candice LeRae, Io Shirai and Toni Storm

27. In 2020 Charlotte Flair won the Royal Rumble and chose Rhea Ripley as her WrestleMania opponent to challenge for the NXT Women’s Championship.

Charlotte FlairCharlotte Flair

28. NXT Superstars represent countries from all across the world including:
Xia Li from China
Bronson Reed from Australia
Chelsea Green from Canada
Dakota Kai from New Zealand
Danny Burch from England
Finn Bálor from Ireland
Io Shirai from Japan
Killian Dain from Northern Ireland
Mansoor from Saudi Arabia
Santos Escobar from Mexico
Tegan Nox from Wales
Indus Sher from India
…and many more

29. In a recent interview, Triple H spoke about the future talent of NXT: “…the long term is very exciting. We have a lot of stars. There are a lot of hungry young athletes, and the pipeline to bring in more as they continue to train and get better is very exciting. The future is very bright in that regard.”

30. Notable NXT alumni include:

Seth Rollins

Alexa Bliss
Big E
Apollo Crews
Roman Reigns
Seth Rollins
Bray Wyatt
Sasha Banks
Charlotte Flair
Becky Lynch
Ember Moon
Montez Ford
Aleister Black
Angel Garza
Angelo Dawkins
Baron Corbin
Braun Strowman
Chad Gable
Kevin Owens
Lacey Evans
Liv Morgan
Daniel Bryan (from the NXT reality show era)
Drew McIntyre
Mojo Rawley
Billie Kay
Peyton Royce
Titus O’Neill (from the NXT reality show era)
Xavier Woods
Sami Zayn
Zelina Vega
Ruby Riott
Robert Roode
…and many more

To know more, catch all the action from NXT TAKEOVER: XXX 2020 on 23RDAugust 2020 at 4:30 AM IST exclusively on SONY TEN 1 and SONY TEN 3 Channels

*Keep scrolling to read more news*

Catch up on all the latest sports news and updates here. Also download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get latest updates.

Mid-Day is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@middayinfomedialtd) and stay updated with the latest news

First Published: 21 August, 2020 12:12 IST

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK