Yuvraj, Harbhajan, Zaheer Khan axed

Published: 10 December, 2012 07:50 IST | Sanjib Guha |

Following two losses in consecutive Tests to England, the selectors have axed under-performing stars Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh and Zaheer Khan

Saurashtra all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, Uttar Pradesh leggie Piyush Chawla and Delhi medium-pacer Parvinder Awana have replaced the trio in the 15-member squad for the fourth Test in Nagpur starting on Thursday.

BCCI secretary Sanjay Jagdale, when asked for a comment, said he did not wish to talk on the selection matters. “I don’t want to comment on selection issues. No one is happy when the team loses, we are looking into it… we are working on it,” Jagdale said after the selection meeting which lasted for more than an hour.

However, it wasn’t clear what made the five wise men leave out India’s pace spearhead Zaheer Khan.

Meanwhile, the selectors also announced the 15-member squad for the two T20s after the fourth Test, where the names of Virender Sehwag and Zaheer didn’t figure. According to a BCCI release, Sehwag and Zaheer are unavailable for the T20s and were therefore not considered. Jadeja, Chawla and Awana were included in the T20 squad too.

Test squad: MS Dhoni (Captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, Ishant Sharma, Pragyan Ojha, Ajinkya Rahane, Ashok Dinda, Murali Vijay, Parvinder Awana. 

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK