Zaheer Khan, Saurabh Tiwary to miss rest of IPL due to injury

May 06, 2014, 21:44 IST | PTI

Mumbai Indians' Zaheer Khan and Delhi Daredevils' Saurabh Tiwary join growing list of players who will miss the IPL season due to an injury

Mumbai/New Delhi: In another blow to Mumbai Indians' campaign in IPL-7, pace spearhead Zaheer Khan has been ruled out of the remainder of the tournament, according to skipper Rohit Sharma.

Burly Jharkhand batsman Saurabh Tiwary too has been ruled out of the remainder of the seventh edition of Indian Premier League due to a shoulder injury. The left-hander, who has not played a single game for Delhi Daredevils this season, has been ruled out as what was thought to be a shoulder niggle turned out into a full-fledged injury.

Zaheer Khan
Zaheer Khan

Zaheer, who suffered a severe side strain after bowling just three deliveries of his final over in Mumbai's first home game against Kings XI Punjab at Wankhede, has scalped five wickets in six games.

"Zaheer will miss the remainder of the IPL season," Rohit said just before the toss in his side's match against Royal Challengers Bangalore here.

The team management also confirmed the development. "Yes, he (Zaheer) has been ruled out of the remainder of IPL 7," a team source said.

It is also a setback to 35-year-old's comeback plans in India's ODI set-up after the left-arm pacer found himself out-of-favour since his last ODI match in August 2012.

Tiwary has been sent home and will probably go to NCA for a rehab programme.

Saurabh Tiwary
Saurabh Tiwary

"Tiwary was having problems with his throwing arm. He was having pain while throwing from the deep. It does not look like as if he would be featuring any further in this edition of the Indian Premier League," an IPL source informed today.

Daredevils' South African leg-spinner Imran Tahir's visa problems have beeen sorted out but it is unlikely that he will feature against KKR in tomorrow's game.

Zaheer and Tiwary join the growing list of injured players this season after Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings), Nic Maddinson (Royals Challengers Bangalore) and Nathan Coulter-Nile (Delhi Daredevils) had to leave their respective teams midway.

Go to top