MS Dhoni's WT20 boys then and now: Here's a look at the men in blue

Updated: Sep 24, 2019, 16:41 | Shawn.Dsouza
  • MS Dhoni

    Mahendra Singh Dhoni led the Indian cricket team to the first-ever World Twenty20 title after the 'Men in Blue' defeated Pakistan by 5 runs in an epic final in 2007. Team India posted a total of 157 for the loss of 5 wickets while Pakistan managed 152.

  • MS Dhoni

    MS Dhoni became the first captain since Kapil Dev in 1983 to win a World title. MS Dhoni also led Team India to the World Cup title in 2011.

  • Gautam Gambhir

    Gautam Gambhir was the highlight of the Indian batting attack as he starred with his 75 runs off 54 balls. Gambhir hit 4 boundaries and 2 sixes at a strike rate of 138.88

  • Gautam Gambhir

    Gautam Gambhir retired from cricket in 2018. In March 2019, Gautam Gambhir joined the Bharatiya Janata Party and contested in the 2019 General Elections

  • Yuvraj Singh

    Star-all-rounder Yuvraj Singh scored 14 runs off 28 balls before he was dismissed by pacer Umar Gul.

  • Yuvraj Singh

    Yuvraj Singh has played 58 T20Is and has scored 1,177 runs. Yuvraj's highest score is an unbeaten 77. He has hit a total of 7 fifties in the format. His last T20I match was in February 2017

  • Rohit Sharma

    Rohit Sharma scored 30 runs in just 16 balls at a strike rate of 187.50. Rohit hit 2 boundaries and a six during his innings.

  • Rohit Sharma

    Rohit Sharma, since then, has become one of India's most dependable and talented batsmen. Rohit Sharma has played 96 T20Is and has scored 2,422 runs. He has 4 centuries and 17 fifties in T20Is. Rohit's highest score is 118.

  • Robin Uthappa

    Robin Uthappa, who entered at number 3 when India was batting, scored 8 runs in 11 balls with just one boundary.

  • Robin Uthappa

    Robin Uthappa has played a total of 13 T20Is for India and has scored 249 runs. His highest score is 50. His last T20I for India was in March 2012.

  • Yusuf Pathan

    All-rounder Yusuf Pathan opened the innings with Gambhir and scored 15 runs in 8 balls with a boundary and a six before being dismissed by Mohammad Asif. 

  • Yusuf Pathan

    Yusuf Pathan has played a total of 22 T20Is with 236 runs and 13 wickets to his name. He last played a T20I match in March 2012.

  • Irfan Pathan

    Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan scored 3 runs of 3 balls. But it was his impressive bowling that helped Team India in winning the match. In his 4 overs, Irfan Pathan took 3 wickets and gave 16 runs.

  • Irfan Pathan

    Irfan Pathan played his last T20I in October 2012. Irfan has been commentating for cricket matches and has also appeared on the television show Jhalak Dikhhla Ja

  • Harbhajan Singh

    Harbhajan Singh almost handed over the match to Pakistan in the second half of the game after Misbah-ul-Haq smashed him for three sixes. Harbhajan gave 36 runs in his 3 overs.

  • Harbhajan Singh

    Harbhajan Singh has played a total of 28 T20Is for India and has taken 25 wickets. His last T20I was in March 2016.

  • Sreesanth

    Pacer S Sreesanth bowled 4 overs and took a wicket for 44 runs. He was the most expensive from the Indian bowling attack that day.

  • Sreesanth

    Sreesanth's life since has been a rollercoaster. Sreesanth has played 10 T20Is and has taken a total of 7 wickets with a best of 2/12. Sreesanth has also appeared in the Bollywood film Aksar 2 and television shows like Ek Khiladi Ek Haseena, Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa 7, Bigg Boss 12 and Fear Factor: Khatron Ke Khiladi 9. 

  • Joginder Sharma

    Spinner Joginder Sharma hit the final nail in the coffin after he took Misbah-ul-Haq in the final over to help India win the final. Joginder finished with 20 runs and 2 wickets in his 3.3 overs.

  • Joginder Sharma

    Joginder Sharma has played a total of 4 T20Is and has taken just 1 wicket. The WT20 final against Pakistan was his last T20I match

  • R P Singh

    Pacer Rudra Pratap Singh bowled 4 overs and took 3 wickets for 20 runs against Pakistan in the final.

  • R P Singh

    RP Singh has played 10 matches in T20Is and has taken 15 wickets. His best bowling figures are 4/13. RP Singh's last T20I was in June 2009.

  • loading...

About The Gallery

On September 24, 2007, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and his boys created history by defeating arch-rivals Pakistan to lift the first-ever World T20 title in 2007. We celebrate 12 years of this epic victory, by looking back at the performance of the eleven players who represented India in the final on that day and their career records

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK