Photos: 8 startling similarities between 2001 and 2017 India-Australia series'

Updated: 06 April, 2017 14:48 IST
  • India thrashed in series opener
    The hosts were pummeled by 10 wickets in Mumbai in 2001, by an Aussie team that was near invincible. In Pune in 2017, Steve O'Keefe's 12-wicket match-haul confined India to a 333-run defeat
  • Poor batting in first innings of second Test
    Responding to Australia's imposing 445, India were rolled over for 171 in the first innings of the second Test at Eden Gardens in 2001. In the recent series, Nathan Lyon's 8 for 50 saw India being bowled out for 189 on day one of Bengaluru Test
  • Momentum-changing partnership (between No 3 and No 6 both times)
    VVS Laxman and Rahul Dravid featured in an unforgettable 376-run partnership to turn around the Kolkata Test in 2001. Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane added 118 for the fifth wicket in this year's Bengaluru Test. The partnership may not seem huge on paper, but it gave India the lift they needed
  • Off-spinner bowls India to victory
    In 2001 at Kolkata, Harbhajan Singh ran through Australia with figures of 7 for 123 and 6 for 73. In Bengaluru, Ravichandran Ashwin picked up 6 for 41 in the second innings to bowl India to victory
  • Contentious catch controversy
    Both series' saw controversy over a catch. In the 2001 Mumbai Test, Michael Slater claimed a catch of Rahul Dravid, but umpires gave it not out after replays. Slater went berserk after that. At Dharamsala, Murali Vijay claimed a catch of last-man Josh Hazlewood, and even sprinted towards the dressing room, only to come back after the batsman was given not out
  • Top Aussie batsman has miserable tour
    In 2001, Ricky Ponting had a wretched tour, managing just 17 runs in five innings. This year, David Warner was found out as he managed only one fifty in eight innings, averaging under 25
  • Chasing low total to win series
    At Chennai in 2001, India needed 155 to win the trophy. They scampered home by two wickets. At Dharamsala recently, they were set 106 to win. They won by a comprehensive margin of eight wickets
  • Identical final scoreline
    Although 2001 was a three-match series and 2017 was a four-Test contest, the end result was the same; India won 2-1
  • loading...

About The Gallery

The recently ended Border-Gavaskar Trophy was astonishingly similar to the manner in which the famous 2001 series panned out. Don't believe us? Take a look at this comparison. All pics/AFP

First Published: 30 March, 2017 08:12 IST