Photos: These Indian cricketers were Champions Trophy superstars

Updated: 25 May, 2017 15:53 IST
  • Sachin Tendulkar: 141
    In the inaugural edition of the tournament in 1998, Tendulkar continued his love affair with the Aussies. In the knockout event, India batted first at Dhaka and piled up 307 courtesy Tendulkar’s belligerent 141. Tendulkar’s knock came off 128 balls and featured 13 fours and three sixes. Australia couldn’t recover from Tendulkar’s onslaught, and slumped to a 44-run loss
  • Sourav Ganguly: 141 not out
    In the semi-final of 2000 edition, the Indian skipped played a captain’s knock to lead India into the final. Batting first against South Africa at Nairobi, Ganguly creamed his way to an unbeaten 141 off 142 balls, with the aid of 11 fours and six sixes. India made 295 for 6 and won the clash by a handsome margin of 95 runs
  • Yuvraj Singh: 84
    A highly prodigious talent announced himself on the big stage with an innings of intent, at Nairobi in 2000. India took on Australia in the first quarter final. Batting first, India were in a spot of bother at 90 for 3, but Yuvarj single-handedly took on the might of the Aussies and brought them down. His elegant knock came off 80 balls and featured 12 handsome boundaries as, for the second tournament in a row, India knocked out Australia
  • Virat Kohli: 79 not out
    Having bowled out West Indies cheaply, for 129, in their group match against West Indies at Johannesburg during the 2009 edition, India romped home to an impressive victory courtesy Kohli’s mature knock. He faced 104 balls and hit nine fours and two sixes, to remain unbeaten on 79 and take India to an easy seven-wicket victory
  • Munaf Patel: 3 for 18
    The paceman came up with a rare match-winning effort against England, during a group game in the 2006 edition at Jaipur. Choosing to bowl first, India demolished England for 125, with Patel dismissing Ian Bell, Micheal Yardy and Kevin Pietersen. The hosts laboured to a four-wicket victory
  • Sourav Ganguly: 117
    Ganguly was again in his elements in the final of the 2000 edition against New Zealand. India batted first again, and Ganguly notched up another hundred, making 117 off 130 balls, which included nine fours and four sixes before being dismissed by Nathan Astle. However, Chris Cairns stole the Indian captain’s thunder with a calm, unbeaten century to help Kiwis lift the trophy
  • Virender Sehwag: 126
    In the league match against England at Colombo in 2002, Sehwag was at his vintage best. Batting first, England had put up a competitive 269 for 7. Sehwag though made a mockery of the target, bludgeoning 126 off 104 balls, an innings which featured 21 fours and one six, as India cruised to an eight-wicket triumph
  • Ashish Nehra 4 for 55
    The left-arm seamer was India’s sole saving grace in the league match in the 2009 edition against arch-rivals Pakistan at Centurion. Even as the other bowlers were clobbered around the park, Nehra ended with impressive figures of 4 for 55, sending back Imran Nazir, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Yousuf and Umar Akmal. Pakistan though piled up 302 for 9 and claimed victory by 54 runs
  • Mohammad Kaif: 111 not out
    In a group game against Zimbabwe at Colombo, during the 2002 tournament, India were in all sorts of strife batting first, as they crumbed to 87 for 5. Kaif, however, maintained his cool, and did the rescue act for India. Coming in at number seven, he compiled an unbeaten 111 off 112 deliveries with eight fours and one six. India recovered to post 288 for 6, and won the match by 14 runs in spite of Andy Flower’s brilliant 145
  • Photos: These Indian cricketers were Champions Trophy superstars
    A collage of Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli
  • loading...

About The Gallery

With the eighth edition of the ICC Champions Trophy all set to get underway on June 1st , we look back at some impressive performances by Indians over the years in the event

First Published: 25 May, 2017 08:00 IST