WWE SummerSlam superstars in action: Top photos in the past 10 years

Updated: 21 August, 2020 07:27 IST | Shawn.Dsouza
  • SummerSlam 2010: Team WWE vs Team Nexus - An epic 7-on-7 elimination match which consisted of John Cena, Bret Hart, Chris Jericho, Daniel Bryan, Edge, John Morrison and R-Truth facing The Nexus team members Wade Barrett, Darren Young, David Otunga, Heath Slater, Justin Gabriel, Michael Tarver and Skip Sheffield. Cena and Bryan had most eliminations with two as Cena stood tall in the end winning the match for WWE.

  • SummerSlam 2011: John Cena vs CM Punk - Cena and Punk, both held WWE titles and this was a match to determine the Undisputed WWE champion. Triple H was the gues referee. Despite both getting one-up each other, no one could make a pinfall. Finally Punk pinned Cena (despite his foot being on the ropes) to win the title. Punk was later attacked by a returning Kevin Nash after which Alberto Del Rio cashed in his Money in the Bank contract to become the new WWE champion

  • SummerSlam 2012: Daniel Bryan vs Kane - In a match with former WWE tag team partners, Kane had the upperhand all along after he dominated Bryan and also denied him a No Lock. Kane then hit Bryan with a chokeslam followed by a Tombstone Piledriver but Bryan managed a quick reversal to pick up the win.

  • SummerSlam 2013: John Cena vs Daniel Bryan - Cena defended the WWE title against Bryan in what was called a Dream Match. Bryan showcased quickness in reply to Cena's brute strength and finally after back and forth between the two, Bryan picked up the win and the title. Triple H, the guest referee then hit Bryan with a Pedigree as Randy Orton cashed in his Money in the Bank contract to beat Bryan and win the WWE title in what is called as the biggest SummerSlam shock in history!

  • SummerSlam 2014: Roman Reigns vs Randy Orton - One of Reigns' first-ever big matches in which he went toe-to-toe with the Viper. Although Orton managed to hit the RKO he could not pin Reigns. After Orton went for the Punt Kick, Reigns countered into a Spear and pinned Orton.

  • SummerSlam 2015: Undertaker vs Brock Lesnar - This was termed as a Grudge match after Brock Lesnar ended Undertaker's Streak the previous year at WrestleMania 30. Both superstars hit each other with signature moves like F-5, Tombstone Piledrivers, Last Ride, Kimura Lock but none could score a pin. Finally Taker put Lesnar in Hell's Gate, but Brock countered with another Kimura Lock. As the timekeeper hit the bell, the referee did not see the submission and the match went on. Brock however, thought he won and let go. Undertaker then hit Lesnar with a low blow and Hell's Gate again, till Brock passed out. Undertaker was then declared the winner in controversial fashion.

  • SummerSlam 2016: Charlotte Flair vs Sasha Banks - The Queen and The Boss went at each other with both pulling off their signature moves like Natural Selection and Bank Statement respectively. However, none could make a pinfall. Finally after the match shifting sides, Sasha applied the Bank Statement on Charlotte, who tipped over her weight to pin Sasha and win the Raw women's title.

  • SummerSlam 2017: Brock Lesnar vs Roman Reigns vs Braun Strowman vs Samoa Joe - Lesnar defended the Universal title in a fatal-four-way match. All challengers put on a strong offense but it was Strowman who dominated by slamming Lesnar twice on the announcer's table. The second time, he pushed another table onto Lesnar as the officials took the latter away. As the three challengers faced each other in a bid to win the title, Lesnar arrived minutes later. Strowman was almost there with almost two pinfalls on Reigns and Joe respectively. Lesnar finally hit an F-5 on Reigns to retain his title. 

  • SummerSlam 2018: Seth Rollins vs Dolph Ziggler - Seth Rollins had Dean Ambrose in his corner while Dolph Ziggler had Drew McIntyre in his for the Intercontinental title match. Ambrose and McIntyre went at each other outside the ring as Ziggler and Rollins battled in. Despite a distraction, Ziggler could not pin Rollins for the win. Rollins later hit a Superkick and Stomp to win the title in dramatic fashion. 

  • SummerSlam 2019: 'The Fiend' Bray Wyatt vs Finn Balor - It was the debut of Bray Wyatt's alter-ego in a dominating manner which he overpowered Finn Balor and countered his Coup de Gras to hit Mandible Claw and pick up the victory.

  • loading...

About The Gallery

As the WWE Universe gears up for the SummerSlam 2020 pay-per-view on August 23, we trace back and showcase the top ten photos of WWE superstars in action in the past 10 years

First Published: 21 August, 2020 07:15 IST