IN PHOTOS: Venkaiah Naidu, Ram Naik and Mithun Chakraborty among those conferred Padma awards

Former vice president M Venkaiah Naidu, founder of Sulabh International Bindeshwar Pathak and a host of other prominent persons were conferred with Padma Awards by President Droupadi Murmu at a ceremonial function held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Monday. Pics/PTI

Updated On: 2024-04-22 08:34 PM IST

Compiled by : Asif Ali Sayed

President Droupadi Murmu confers Padma Vibhushan on former vice president M. Venkaiah Naidu in the field of Public Affairs during Padma Awards 2024 ceremony. Pics/PTI

Actor Mithun Chakraborty, singer Usha Uthup, former Uttar Pradesh governor Ram Naik and industrialist Sitaram Jindal were conferred with the Padma Bhushan

Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar, among others, were present at the function

Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian honours of the country, are conferred in three categories -- Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri

The awards are given in various disciplines or fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc

The Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service, the Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of high order and the Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field

For 2024, the President had approved conferment of 132 Padma awards, including two duo cases (in a duo case, the award is counted as one)

The list comprises five Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 110 Padma Shri awards

Next Gallery

IN PHOTOS: Aspirants` hopes high as UPSC prelims 2024 held amid tight security

Related Photos