The start of construction of the Colaba-Bandra-Seepz metro line moved a step closer on Monday with 14 national and international firms showing interest in designing and constructing the underground stations and associated tunnels for Mumbai’s Metro Line-3.

The 14 firms that responded to the pre-qualification bids invited by the Mumbai Metro Rail Corporation (MMRC) are – AFCONS-KMB, CEC-ITDCEM-TPL, CTCEG-PIIPL, Dogus-Soma, IL & FS-CR25G, J.Kumar- CRTG, L&T-STEC, MOSMETROSTROY-HCC, OHL-SKE&C, Pratibha-GDYT Consortium, Sacyr CMC ESSAR, Salin Impregilo-Gammon, STRABAG-AG-Patel and UNITY-IVRCL-CTG.

Sources from MMRDA told this newspaper that the evaluation of the bids is expected to be completed within a period of 90 days.

Mumbai Metro line-3 is a 32.5 km long underground corridor running from Cuffe Parade Station in the South Mumbai to SEEPZ in the North Mumbai with 26 underground stations.

The 26 stations on the Colaba-SEEPZ Metro corridor are – Cuffe Parade, Vidhan Bhavan, Churchgate, Hutatma Chowk, CST Metro, Kalbadevi, Girgaon, Grant Road, Mumbai Central, Mahalaxmi Metro, Science Museum, Acharya Atre Chowk, Worli, Siddhi Vinayak, Dadar Metro, Shitaladevi Temple, Dharavi, BKC Metro, Vidya Nagari, Santacruz, Chhatrapati Shivaji Airport (Domestic), Sahar Road, Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport, Marol Naka, MIDC and SEEPZ.