2014 candidates
Manoj Kamble (Congress), Anna Bansode (NCP), Gautam Chabukswar (Shiv Sena), Chandrakanta Sonkamble (RPI), Anita Sonawane (MNS), Kshitij Texas Gaikwad (BSP)

Sitting MLA:
Anna Bansode (NCP)
Anna Bansode

Constituency history
Pimpri constituency, reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates, was formed after delimitation of the Haveli constituency in 2009, and is composed of areas from Bopkhel, Dapodi to Bhakti-Shakti Chowk and Nigdi. While it is known to be a Congress bastion, Pimpri is the only seat in Pimpri-Chinchwad area which was won by an NCP candidate. Anna Bansode won the seat by defeating BJP’s Amar Sable by 9,527 votes. The constituency has a diverse population of Muslim, Christian, Sindhi, Punjabi, Gujarati and Dalit communities.

Pimpri map

Local dynamics
The sitting MLA from the NCP is a known supporter of Laxman Jagtap, a former NCP leader who is now contesting from a BJP ticket for Chinchwad. Pimpri may be considered a safe seat for the NCP, but the Congress also has a traditional  voter base here.

BJP’s Amar Sable was willing to contest elections this time as well, but the party’s alliance partner RPI claimed this constituency and has fielded Chandrakanta Sonkamble. The one-lakh voters of Sindhi, Punjabi and Gujarati communities for
the BJP and around one-lakh voters of the Dalit community for the RPI may prove to be game changer in this constituency.

3,77,671 Total number of voters in the constituency

Number of Voters 61,061