Timeline: The big Indian Premier League fix...

Jul 15, 2015, 06:57 IST | A correspondent

A chronological presentation of the series of events that led to the IPL spot-fixing probe, trial and subsequent verdict

May 16, 2013: Delhi Police arrest Sreesanth, Ankit Chauhan, Ajit Chandila, Sreesanth’s friend and alleged bookie Jiju Janardhan.

May 20: Rajasthan Royals terminate contracts with the three accused players.

May 24: Mumbai police arrest Gurunath Meiyappan on charges of betting, cheating and conspiracy.

May 26: BCCI appoints a three- man commission of Justice T Jayaram Chouta, Justice R Balasubramanian and BCCI secretary Sanjay Jagdale to look into betting charges against Meiyappan.

May 28: Rajasthan Royals trio Sreesanth, Ajit Chandila and Ankeet Chavan are sent to judicial custody in Tihar.

May 31: BCCI secretary Jagdale and BCCI treasurer Ajay Shirke step down; IPL chairman Rajiv Shukla resigns.

June 2: BCCI president N Srinivasan steps aside temporarily, Jagmohan Dalmiya is interim president.

June 10: Kundra suspended by BCCI for indulging in betting. Sreesanth and two others are granted bail by the court.

July 28: BCCI’s two- member probe panel gives clean chit to Kundra and Meiyappan.

July 30: The Bombay HC rules the BCCI's two- man probe panel as illegal.

September 13: Sreesanth and Chavan banned for life by BCCI while Amit Singh is banned for five years.

February 10, 2014: The Mudgal panel finds Meiyappan guilty of betting.

March 28: The Supreme Court asks Srinivasan to step down as the BCCI president and names Sunil Gavaskar as IPL- 7 interim chief.

January 22, 2015: SC bars Srinivasan from standing for any post in the BCCI. January 22: The SC sets up a three- member committee headed by former Chief Justice of India RM Lodha to determine appropriate punishments for Meiyappan, Kundra and their respective franchises.

July 14: CSK and RR are suspended for two years. Meiyappan and Kundra are also suspended for life from BCCI- related activity.

Related News

Go to top