Subscription Subscription
Home > Sports News > Cricket News > Article > T20 World Cup 2024 schedule India drawn with arch rivals Pakistan again final likely in Barbados

T20 World Cup 2024 schedule: India drawn with arch-rivals Pakistan again, final likely in Barbados

Updated on: 05 January,2024 07:30 PM IST  |  Mumbai
mid-day online correspondent |

India are placed in Group A alongside Pakistan, Canada, Ireland and co-hosts USA

T20 World Cup 2024 schedule: India drawn with arch-rivals Pakistan again, final likely in Barbados

England's Captain Jos Buttler (C) holds the trophy as he celebrates with his players after victory in the ICC men's Twenty20 World Cup 2022 final (Pic: AFP)

Key Highlights

  1. India are placed in Group A alongside Pakistan, Canada, Ireland and co-hosts USA
  2. Defending champions England and Australia are grouped together
  3. USA and Canada are set to clash in the tournament opener on June 1

The riveting cricketing rivalry between India and Pakistan will reach planet's biggest show city New York on June 9 when the arch-rivals go against each other there in a Group A match.

The T20 World Cup 2024 schedule was revealed on Friday, and India are clubbed with Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and co-hosts USA in Group A for the league stage games.

India will open their World Cup campaign with a match against Ireland on June 5 in New York.

After facing Pakistan, India will stay back in New York to take on the co-host nation on June 12, and then will travel to Florida to play against Canada in their final group assignment on June 15.

The tournament is being co-hosted by the West Indies and the USA with 20 teams, divided into four groups of five sides each, making it the largest ever T20 World Cup. Sixteen teams contested in the last edition in 2022 in Australia.

Also Read: Short and sweet!

The tournament will start on June 1 with a match between the USA and Canada. The semi-finals are scheduled for June 26 in Guyana and June 27 in Trinidad while Barbados will host the final on June 29.

England are the title holders, having beaten Pakistan in Melbourne in November 2022.

The group stage matches will be played from June 1 to 18 while the Super 8 games are slotted from June 19 to 24.

The top two teams from each group will enter the Super 8, where the teams will be clubbed into two groups of four each.

The top two teams in each Super 8 group will advance to the semifinals.

A total of 55 games will be played across six venues in the West Indies - Kensington Oval, Barbados; Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad; Providence Stadium, Guyana; Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua; Darren Sammy Cricket Ground, St Lucia; Arnos Vale Stadium, St Vincent - and three stadiums in the USA - Eisenhower Park, New York; Lauderhill, Florida and Grand Prairie, Texas.

T20 World Cup 2024 schedule: All four groups at a glance

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA.

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman.

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea.

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal. 

(With agency inputs)

"Exciting news! Mid-day is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest news!" Click here!

Register for FREE
to continue reading !

This is not a paywall.
However, your registration helps us understand your preferences better and enables us to provide insightful and credible journalism for all our readers.

Mid-Day Web Stories

Mid-Day Web Stories

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK