Six Australian players released from the T20I squad against India

28 November,2023 02:09 PM IST |  Mumbai  |  mid-day online correspondent

Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Ben Dwarshuis and Chris Green will be added to Australia`s squad ahead of the remaining clashes

Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith (Pic: AFP)

Your browser doesn’t support HTML5 audio

Key Highlights

Australia's ICC World Cup 2023 winning squad's six players will be rested for the remaining three T20I clashes against the 'Men in Blue' to manage their workload. Players including Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoins, Josh Inglis and Sean Abbott will return to Australia. Aussies' unorthodox batsman Steve Smith along with their mighty spinner Adam Zampa have already travelled to Australia after featuring in the first two T20Is.

The ICC World Cup 2023 final match centurion Travis Head will stay with the Australian side for the remainder of the T20I series against India. The left-hander missed the starting matches of the ICC World Cup 2023 due to injury but later played an important role in guiding his team to victories.

Also Read: Ind Vs Aus 3rd T20: Here's all you need to know

On the other hand, players like Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Ben Dwarshuis and Chris Green will be added to Australia's squad ahead of the remaining clashes.

The third match of the T20I series between India and Australia will be played in Guwahati at Assam Cricket Association Stadium. The match will start at 7 pm and the 'Men in Blue' is leading the series with two straight wins against the Aussies.

Also Read: The voice of cricket expresses thoughts on Shubman Gill

With a lead of 2-0 in the series, India will look to win today's game by sealing the series win in the first three matches. Suryakumar-led Indian side are showcasing their their extraordinary skills in all aspects of the game. Wicketkeeper-batsman Ishan Kishan has scored two consecutive fifty-plus scores in both matches played. But Australia who has not registered a single win so far, will bring their best performances to stop India from registering the third consecutive win.


India: Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (Vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (Wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Australia's updated squad: Matthew Wade (c), Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Ellis, Chris Green, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Kane Richardson.

(With ANI Inputs)

"Exciting news! Mid-day is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest news!" Click here!
India vs Australia india australia cricket news sports news International Sports News Update
Related Stories