Vijay Hazare Trophy: MS Dhoni fails, but Jharkhand win

Alur (Karnataka): Mahendra Singh Dhoni's poor run of form in domestic cricket continued as he scored only one but Jharkhand managed to comfortably beat defending champions Karnataka to get a step closer to the qualifying for the quarter-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, here yesterday.

MS Dhoni. Pic/Nimesh Dave
MS Dhoni. Pic/Nimesh Dave

Batting first, Jharkhand scored 216 for 9 with Ishank Jaggi (50), Saurabh Tiwary (43) and Kumar Deobrat (47) being the chief contributors.

On a day when Dhoni was picked by Oune franchise for a whopping Rs 12.5 crore, his on-field woes continued as he was castled by friendly seam up stuff from Karun Nair as he faced 8 balls.

In reply, Karnataka were all out for 169 with Lokesh Rahul scoring 42. Left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem (3/15) was the best bowler on view. Sonu Singh also got three wickets. Jharkhand now are on top of group B with 16 points while Karnataka are languishing at the fifth place with 8 points from four games.

Brief Scores: Jharkhand 216/8 (Ishank Jagii 50, Kumar Deobrat 47, Saurabh Tiwary 43, J Suchith 4/35) Karnataka 169 in 45 overs (Lokesh Rahul 42, Shahbaz Nadeem 3/15, Sonu Kumar Singh 3/20). Jharkhand won by 47 runs. Points: Jharkhand 4; Karnataka 0.

    Leave a Reply