Shane Warne's all-time Aussie ODI XI doesn't include Michael Bevan, Steve Waugh

Jan 09, 2015, 15:33 IST | Agencies

Legendary leg-spinner Shane Warne Friday opted to exclude one of the sport's best finishers Michael Bevan and former catain Steve Waugh from his all-time Australian One-Day International (ODI) XI

Sydney: Legendary leg-spinner Shane Warne on Friday opted to exclude one of the sport's best finishers Michael Bevan from his all-time Australian One-Day International (ODI) eleven.

Always controversial, Warne omitted ODI legend Bevan, widely regarded as Australia's greatest-ever finisher after averaging 53.58 across 232 matches.

Warne, who gave himself a place in the team, also left out Steve Waugh, while naming temperamental former all-rounder Andrew Symonds in the squad.

Shane Warne and Ricky PontingShane Warne (L) and Ricky Ponting (R) hold the trophy after Warne's final one-day appearance in Australia January 25 , 2003. Pic/AFP 

Warne named his all-time Australian ODI XI during the tea break on day four of the fourth Test between India and Australia at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) here Friday.

Australia’s greatest-ever Test wicket-taker picked three 1999 ICC World Cup teammates at the top of the order in Mark Waugh, Adam Gilchrist and Ricky Ponting, while former captains Greg Chappell and Allan Border were slotted in either side of injured skipper Michael Clarke.

Interestingly, Clarke and pace spearhead Mitchell Johnson were the only representatives from the current Australian cricket squad to find a place in Warne's all-time ODI XI.

Despite the majority of Warne’s eleven receiving the full support of his fellow Wide World of Sports commentators, Mark Taylor did chide the leg-spinner for selecting himself in the side.

"Warnie," Taylor started, "being the shy, retiring type, would probably have left himself out of his own team and picked Peter Taylor - the off-spinner."

"A very good one-day bowler, handy bat."

"You guys told me to put myself in," Warne laughed, "don’t try and turn it around."

Shane Warne all-time Australia XI:

  1. Mark Waugh
  2. Adam Gilchrist
  3. Ricky Ponting
  4. Greg Chappell
  5. Michael Clarke
  6. Allan Border
  7. Andrew Symonds
  8. Mitchell Johnson
  9. Shane Warne
  10. Dennis Lillee
  11. Glenn McGrath.


  • Michael Hayden
  • Dean Jones
  • Michael Hussey
  • Gary Gilmour
  • Brett Lee.

Go to top