Australia were 98 for three at lunch after winning the toss on the opening day of the fourth and final Test against India at the Adelaide Oval on Tuesday.

Off-spinner R Ashwin dismissed Shaun Marsh (3) and Ed Cowan (30), while pace spearhead Zaheer Khan accounted for David Warner (8) during the first session.

Ricky Ponting was not out 43 with skipper Michael Clarke on eight.


Australia 1st innings:
E. Cowan c Laxman b Ashwin 30
D. Warner lbw b Zaheer 8
S. Marsh b Ashwin 3
R. Ponting not out 43
M. Clarke not out 8

Extras: (lb5, w1) 6

Total: (3 wickets for, 29 overs) 98

Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Warner), 2-31 (Marsh), 3-84 (Cowan)

Zaheer 6-1-13-1
Yadav 5-0-41-0
Ashwin 9-3-20-2
I. Sharma 7-2-11-0
Sehwag 2-0-8-0

India squad: Virender Sehwag (capt), Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, V.V.S. Laxman, Virat Kohli, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravi Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav.