In a winner-take-all quarter-final yesterday, Bhupathi-Bopanna beat Poland’s Mariusz Fyrstenberg and Marcin Matkowski 6-7(5), 6-3, 10-4. They will now face Paul Hanley and Jonathan Marray.

Bhupathi and Bopanna will be making their team debut at the season finale. Bhupathi is a four-time runner-up at the event, losing in the final in 2010 (with Max Mirnyi) and in 1997, ’99 and 2000 with Leander Paes.