Crossword Book Awards shortlist announced

Apr 03, 2015, 11:48 IST | A Correspondent

The much-awaited shortlist of the Raymond Crossword Book awards was announced on Wednesday evening. The final winners will be announced on the award function to be held in Mumbai on April 28 at NCPA’s Tata Theatre. 

The categories and nominees are below:

Indian Fiction
· The Competent Authority by Shovon Chowdhury, Aleph
· The Mysterious Ailment of Rupi Baske by Hansda Sowvendra Shekhar, Aleph
· The Smoke is Rising by Mahesh Rao, Random House India
· This Place by Amitabha Bagchi, Harper Collins
· Odysseus Abroad by Amit Chaudhuri, Penguin Books India
· The Blind Lady’s Descendants by Anees Salim, Westland

Indian Non Fiction
· Capital by Rana Dasgupta, Harper Collins
· A Southern Music by T.M. Krishna, Harper Collins
· Filomena's Journeys by Maria Aurora Couto , Aleph
· Colours of the Cage: A Prison Memoir by Arun Ferreira, Aleph
· Public Secrets of Law: Rape Trials in India by Pratiksha Baxi, Oxford University Press
· This Divided Island: Stories from the Sri Lankan War by Samanth Subramanian, Penguin Books India

Indian Language Translation:
· Cobalt Blue by Sachin Kundalkar translated by Jerry Pinto, Penguin Books India
· Children, Women, Men by Sundara Ramaswamy translated by Lakshmi Holmstrom, Penguin Books India
· One Part Woman by Perumal Murugan translated by Aniruddhan Vasudevan, Penguin Books India
· The Mirror of Beauty by Shamsur Rahman Faruqi, Penguin Books India
· A Dirge for the Dammed, by Vishwas Patil translated by Keerti Ramachandra, Hachette India
· The Death of Sheherzad by Intizaar Hussain translated by Rakshanda Jalil, Harper Collins

Children’s Writing:
· Vanamala and the Cephalopod by Shalini Srinivasan, Duckbill
· Timmi in Tangles by Shalini Mahajan, Duckbill
· The Susu Pals by Richa Jha, SWPB
· The Adventures of Skoob by Samit Basu, Rupa Publications
· Flat-track Bullies by Balaji Venkataramanan, Duckbill

Popular Award Nominations:
· The Accidental Prime Minister by Sanjaya Baru, Penguin Books India
· Sita by Devdutt Pattanaik, Penguin Books India
· The Mahabharata Secret by Christopher Doyle, Om Books International
· Bankerupt by Ravi Subramanian, Penguin Books India
· Byculla To Bangkok by S Hussain Zaidi, Harper Collins India
· My Journey:Transforming Dreams Into Action by Dr A.P.J Kalam, Rupa Publications India
· Dilip Kumar - The Substance by Dilip Kumar, Hay House india
· Like It Happened Yesterday by Ravinder Singh, Penguin Books India
· Ajaya byAnand Neelkantan, Leadstart Publishing
· Private India by Ashwin Sanghi, Random House India
· House Of Cards by Sudha Murty, Penguin Books India
· Gandhi Before India by Ramchandra Guha, Penguin Books India
· Chanakya's 7 Secrets Of Leadership by Radhakrishnan Pillai & D. Sivanandhan, Jaico Publishing
· When Only Love Remains by Durjoy Datta, Penguin Books India

Go to top