DD to telecast PM award winning governance initiatives

May 20, 2016, 19:43 IST | PTI

New Delhi: Programmes showcasing successful implementation of NDA government's priority initiatives like Swachh Bharat Mission, by select district administration will be telecast on Doordarshan for two days beginning Saturday.

The government of India has instituted Prime Minister's Award for excellence in public administration to acknowledge the extraordinary and innovative work done by the officers of central and state governments.

A new category was added this year to the PM's awards for the best implementing districts under identified priority
programmes--Swachh Bharat (Gramin); Swachh Vidyalaya; Soil Health Card and Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana.

Awards were conferred late last month to ten districts in three categories--North East & hill states; union territories; and other states by Prime Minister Narendra Modi for excellence in implementing the priority programmes.

The Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances is organising two panel discussions on the four flagships programmes of the government on DD-national channel on May 21-22, 2016 at 19.00 hours, a press release issued today by personnel Ministry said.

The panel discussions being organised on completion of two years of the NDA government, focus on innovation and systemic reforms adopted by the districts in implementing the priority programmes and methodology followed by the government in evaluating them, it said.

The panelists include Deputy Commissioners or District representatives of the four out of the ten awarded districts and members or experts of the empowered committee on Prime Minister's awards, who did the screening or evaluation of the performance of the districts, the release said.

The three outside experts of the empowered committee are --Adil Zainulbhai, Chairman, Quality Council of India (QCI); Saurabh Srivastava, Member, National Innovation Council and V K Saxena, Chairman, Khadi and Village Industries Commission (KVIC).

District representatives include Aishwarya Singh, Divisional Commissioner (DC) West Sikkim; Paritosh Shukla, District Education Officer, Dadra and Nagar Haveli; Ajit Balaji Joshi, DC, Chandigarh and Madan Chauhan, DC, Hamirpur

Related News

Go to top