India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni amazed at blunder that brought Michael Hussey back after television umpire pressed the wrong button 

Team India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was stumped by what happened in the 29th over of the Australian innings involving Michael Hussey. The Aussie was called back even after third umpire Bruce Oxenford ruled him out in yesterday's CB series match.

What's wrong: Mahendra Singh Dhoni talks to the umpires after Mike
Hussey was brought back at the Gabba yesterday. Pic/Getty Images

Hussey, batting on one, missed a slow one from Suresh Raina. Dhoni took off the bails and it was hard to understand whether the Aussie had dragged his foot back in time. On-field umpire Billy Bowden referred the decision to third umpire, who even after watching the replay (which showed Hussey safe), pressed the wrong button.

As a dejected Hussey started walking back to the pavilion, Bowden stopped him halfway saying he was 'not out' and the television umpire had made a mistake in pressing the button upstairs in the cabin. 

The incident simply amazed Dhoni, who has been against the use of Decision Review System (DRS). "I understand the pressure is on the on-field umpires, but when you have plenty of time to make a decision, sitting in an air conditioned room, how can you press the wrong button?" Dhoni asked after India's humiliating 110-run loss. 

The Indian skipper felt that these sort of incidents affect the emotions of a team. "When the team sees 'OUT' on the screen, the morale is suddenly up and then, it is hard to recover from it when suddenly it comes up as 'NOT OUT,' " he felt.

One-match ban for Dhoni
BRISBANE: Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been suspended for one match after his team was fined for slow over rate for the second time in a year during the tri-series match against Australia yesterday. Dhoni is set to miss Tuesday's game against Sri Lanka. India were ruled two overs short of their target at the end of the match when time allowances were taken into consideration.