East Zone lift Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy

East Zone players celebrate after winning the Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament at Wankhede on Saturday. Pic/SURESH KARKERA

Teenager Virat Singh (58 not out) was again in the limelight with a cracking half-century which guided East Zone to an eight-wicket victory over West Zone to clinch the National T20 Championship for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy at Wankhede on Saturday.

East Zone annexed the title by virtue of an all-win record with the tournament being played in round-robin format.

After restricting West to a manageable 149-5 despite Sheldon Jackson's 44-ball-52, East romped home in only 13.4 overs. His senior statemate Ishank Jaggi, who smashed his way to 56 off 30 balls that had six huge sixes including a hook shot off fast bowler Ishwar Chaudhary.

    Leave a Reply