Five-ball over hurts India

A goof-up by umpires Simon Fry of Australia and England's Nigel Llong in the 30th over robbed India of a win against Sri Lanka in a tri-series ODI at the Adelaide Oval yesterday.

Umpires Simon Fry

The umpires failed to detect a five-ball over in the 30th over bowled by Lasith Malinga. A ball less finally proved costly in as India were left with four runs to win from the last ball and managed three as the match ended in a tie, the first between the two countries in ODIs.

Nigel Llong

Malinga sent down five deliveries in the 30th over and the umpires failed to detect the ball-short.

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was unhappy with the mistake made by the umpires, but said they can't make a "big fuss" out of the issue.

"It's done and dusted with. We can create a big fuss out of it but what's the point? It's like a controversy standing right on the edge... just about to happen. What's the point as it's a controversy which is right there and we don't really want to get into anything like that... Hopefully, it won't be repeated, not only with us, but not even with any other side," Dhoni said.

"As I said, we have seen in the past. We have bowled an over and we almost changed sides but the third umpire intervened and said, 'Ok you have to bowl one more ball in this particular over', but it did not happen in this game. I don't know why? Nothing can be done right now," the Indian skipper added.

You May Like



    Leave a Reply