National Cricket Club beat Payyade Sports Club on the first innings in the first round of matches of the 'A' division Dr HD Kanga League at Cross Maidan yesterday.

Rohan Raje
Rohan Raje 

National's skipper Rajesh Pawar, the former Mumbai left-arm spinner, put the visitors in and bowled them out for 156. Pawar claimed three wickets just like opening bowlers Satish Shinde (3 for 18) and Rohan Raje (3 for 48).

In reply, National CC got off a disastrous start, losing opener Shubham Neve in the second over for 0. Coming in at number three, Arun Uadav and Prathamesh Pawar steadied the run chase. The duo added 53 runs for the second wicket before the latter was caught by Harmeet Singh for 14 off Shardul Thakur.

Raje, having picked up three crucial wickets in the first innings, walked in at No 6 and smashed a quickfire 43 off 35 balls with four boundaries and three huge sixes which helped his team get past 156.

After getting the first innings lead, National declared at 158-9. In the second innings, Payyade SC declared on 69 for 3 with Onkar Khanvilkar and Hiken Shan unbeaten on 22 and 11 respectively.