Shikhar Dhawan, Unmukt Chand to captain India 'A' teams vs Bangladesh

Sep 09, 2015, 18:14 IST | IANS

New Delhi: Top order batsmen Shikhar Dhawan and Unmukt Chand will captain the India A teams for the three-day and one-day cricket games respectively against visiting Bangladesh A later this month.

Right-handed Chand, who led India to their 2012 Under-19 World Cup win in Australia, will lead India A in three one-day games to be played on September 16, 18, 20 at Bengaluru.

Unmukt Chand and Shikhar Dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan and Unmukt Chand 

The visitors will then play a three-day game against reigning Ranji Trophy champions Karnataka between September 22 to 24 in Mysuru.

Dhawan and Suresh Raina will get to test their fitness and form ahead of the South Africa series with the selectors naming them in India' A squads for the upcoming home series against Bangladesh A.

Left-handed opener Dhawan, who suffered a hand injury during the first Test against Sri Lanka and missed the remainder of the series, will lead the India A team in the three-day game against Bangladesh.

Raina, who recently practised with the Dutch cricket team in the Netherlands, has been included in the One-day squad. 

Prolific southpaw Raina has not played competitive cricket since Bangladesh ODI series in June. 

The All-India Senior Selection Committee met on Tuesday to decide the squads, Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) secretary Anurag Thakur said in a statement.

India A squad for three-day games: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Abhinav Mukund, Karun Nair, Shreyas Iyer, Baba Aparajith, Naman Ojha, Jayant Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Shreyas Gopal, Abhimanyu Mithun, Varun Aaron, Ishwar Pandey, Sheldon Jackson.

India A squad for one-day games: Unmukt Chand (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Kedar Jadhav, Sanju Samson, Karun Nair, Kuldeep Yadav, Jayant Yadav, Karn Sharma, Rishi Dhawan, S. Aravind, Dhawal Kulkarni, Rush Kalaria, Gurkeerat Singh Mann.

Go to top