Jonny Bairstow's controversial dismissal sparked off a debate about sportsmanship spirit on Day Three of the second Test yesterday. While Bairstow (9) flicked left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha, the ball hit Gautam Gambhir's hand, then hit his helmet and dropped back into his hands at silly point.
The players left the field and nobody suspected a foul catch. But TV replays showed that the ball had hit Gambhir's helmet before completing the catch. Law 32.3 (e) states: "A fielder catches the ball after it has touched an umpire, another fielder or the other batsman. However, it is not a fair catch if the ball has previously touched a protective helmet worn by a fielder. The ball will then remain in play."
Only skipper MS Dhoni could have recalled him. But it didn't happen as Samit Patel walked in. Gambhir said: "I personally felt that once it hits your body and then the grill, that's out. It just didn't come straight off the grill. It just happened so quickly. I got to know later.”
Photos: Kareena Kapoor Khan and Aamir Khan at Mumbai airport
Photos: SRK, wife Gauri, Aishwarya Rai, Shweta Bachchan at Vogue Awards
Photos: Harbhajan Singh-Geeta Basra's TV outing with daughter Hinaya
Photos: Malaika Arora flaunts ripped jeans like a boss!
Photos: Vaani Kapoor, Kriti Sanon, Dia Mirza sizzle on the ramp