Ahmedabad: West Zone regained the JK Bose Trophy after a gap of four years by staying unbeaten in the Twenty20 cricket round-robin league, held as part of the 38th National convention of the Sports Journalists' Federation of India in Motera.

West Zone captan Devendra Pandey and the consistent Ripple Christy
West Zone captan Devendra Pandey and the consistent Ripple Christy 

Having posted comfortable wins over South Zone and North Zone over the first two days, West Zone applied the brakes on East Zone in what was a virtual final at the Sardar Patel Stadium yesterday.

East Zone which had two wins too, failed to measure up in the crucial outing and lost out to the eventual winner by 58 runs.

West Zone posted 137 for four after being put in, with Ripple Christy leading the charge with a superb 53-ball 63 after skipper Devendra Pandey had laid the foundation for his team with a steady 41. East Zone, in reply, could muster only 79 for eight in its quota of 20 overs as Taus Rizvi returned with impressive figures of three for eight.

mid-day's Ashwin Ferro and Subodh Mayure were part of the victorious West Zone team.

In the other match of the day, which was inconsequential to the final ratings, South Zone triumphed over North Zone by eight wickets.

Brief scores
West Zone 137 for four in 20 overs (Ripple Christy 63, Devendra Pandey 41) bt East Zone 79 for eight in 20 overs (Taus Rizvi 3 for 8). West won by 58 runs.