Woorkeri Raman, TA Sekar, Narendra Hirwani appointed NCA coaches

The new, trimmed National Cricket Academy (NCA) committee took its first step towards bringing cricket back as its priority yesterday.

Narendra Hirwani
Narendra Hirwani

The committee led by Director Dilip Vengsarkar and chairman Niranjan Shah appointed WV Raman as batting coach, TA Sekar as bowling coach and Narendra Hirwani as spin bowling coach.

The committee has also decided to go back to zonal academies for which a panel of 30 coaches will be appointed zone-wise.

"They will coach and also watch out for talented players who can be groomed," a Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) official said.

The five zonal academies: Dharamshala (North Zone), Ranchi (East Zone), Baroda (West Zone), Nagpur (Central Zone) and Wayanad in Kerala (South Zone).

The BCCI also issued a one-month ultimatum to Bangalore to finalise a base for the academy. "The NCA has been looking for a permanent place. We have given a month's time to Bangalore to finalise things," BCCI's Joint Honorary Secretary Amitabh Chaudhary said.

    Leave a Reply