Lok Sabha elections 2024: MVA's poll victory is beginning, not end, says Uddhav Thackeray

15 June,2024 04:01 PM IST |  Mumbai  |  mid-day online correspondent

Uddhav Thackeray also expressed confidence that the opposition alliance will win the upcoming assembly elections in the state

Uddhav Thackeray. File Pic

Your browser doesn’t support HTML5 audio

Shiv Sena (UBT) chief Uddhav Thackeray on Saturday said that the victory of the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) in the Lok Sabha elections 2024 in Maharashtra is the beginning and not the end, reported the PTI.

Uddhav also expressed confidence that the opposition alliance will win the upcoming assembly elections in the state.

The MVA comprises of the Shiv Sena (UBT), Congress and the Sharad Pawar-led Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

Uddhav Thackeray, whose party is a constituent of the MVA, was addressing a joint press conference of the alliance members in south Mumbai, where NCP (SP) chief Sharad Pawar and senior Congress leader Prithviraj Chavan also spoke, as per the PTI.

The three parties also held a preliminary meeting for the state assembly polls scheduled later this year.

Uddhav Thackeray said that people of the state showed how hollow the myth of Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) invincibility is.

"Lok Sabha poll victory for Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) is not the end, it is the beginning," the former Maharashtra chief minister said, according to the PTI.

Meanwhile, Congress leader Prithviraj Chavan said that after the Lok Sabha election results 2024, change of government was imminent in Maharashtra.

Taking a swipe at Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Sharad Pawar said, "We thank PM Narendra Modi for making the political atmosphere conducive for the MVA," the news agency reported on Saturday.

In the just-concluded Lok Sabha elections, the Congress won 13 seats, a quantum jump from the solitary seat it won in the state in 2019, while the Shiv Sena (UBT) bagged nine and the NCP (SP) eight.

In the seat-sharing deal for the general elections, the Uddhav Thackeray-led party had got the largest share of seats among the three parties. Of the total 48 Lok Sabha seats, the Sena (UBT) contested 21 seats, followed by Congress at 17 and NCP (SP) at 10.

In comparison, the ruling Mahayuti could bag just 17 seats, with the BJP's seat tally coming drastically down to nine from the 23 (it won in 2019). The Eknath Shinde-led Shiv Sena won seven, while the Ajit Pawar-led NCP could get just one seat.

(with PTI inputs)

"Exciting news! Mid-day is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest news!" Click here!
maharashtra uddhav thackeray shiv sena Maha Vikas Aghadi Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Maharashtra Lok Sabha elections 2024 mumbai news BJP PM Modi
Related Stories