Arjun Tendulkar included in MCA U-14 probables

Jun 27, 2012, 08:11 IST | Sundari Iyer

Coach Rajesh Sanil wants Arjun Tendulkar to make the most of his Mumbai U-14 selection

Sachin Tendulkar’s son Arjun took the first step towards making his foray into competitive cricket as the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) included him among the 32 probables for their U-14 off-season training camp at the Bandra Kurla Complex from July 3.

Elegant: Arjun Tendulkar during an inter-school match at Azad Maidan. File Pic/Suresh KK

Twelve-year-old Arjun, a student of Dhirubhai Ambani International School, is a top order left-handed batsman and left-arm medium-pacer. Arjun played for Khar Centre, who ended up as runners-up in the MCA summer vacation tournament. He scored a century (124) and a half-century (64) in the five matches he played in the competition.

Khar’s coach Rajesh Sanil now wants Arjun to make the most of this opportunity.

“There is still a lot of time for the final team to be announced. These players will be playing two more selection tournaments in November and January. I hope Arjun impresses everybody with his performance,” Sanil told MiD DAY yesterday.

“Arjun is a decent cricketer and is quite disciplined as well. He has it in him to succeed, but needs to work on his fielding.

“He is just 12 and has enough time to mature as a cricketer,” he added.

Just like Sachin
Sanil further said that Arjun has an amazingly wide repertoire of shots at a young age and is apt at handling the pressure.

“What I like about Arjun is that he enjoys his cricket. He doesn’t succumb to pressure. He is very serious about the game.
He is punctual and a good student. Arjun is a fast learner too,” added Sanil. 

Probables: Akash Sawla, Bhupen Lalwani, Riddish Sawant, Aman Sharma, Prithvi Shaw, Kaustubh Dipte, Agni Chopra, Jay Dave, Mehtab Ansari, Tanush Kotian, Akash Malbari, Ojas Pandit, Om Jadhav, Hashir Dafedar, Rishikesh Padwal (wk), Mahesh Patil Dhruva Vedak, Varun Joijode, Sidak Singh, Azim Shaikh, Shivam Mehrotra, Sarvesh Rahate, Mukund Sardar, Rahul Dube, Suraj Patel, Aftab Ansari, Pratamesh Chavan (wk), Aditya Jha, Samit Pawar, Sagar Chabria, Arjun Tendulkar and Jairaj Deshmukh. 

Go to top