Australia pick Brad Hogg (41) for World T20

Aug 17, 2012, 07:50 IST | PA Sport

Australia, eternal supporters of youth, select 41-year-old Brad Hogg for World T20

Brad Hogg will become the oldest cricketer to play for Australia at a World Cup after being named in the 15-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20 tournament in Sri Lanka.

The 41-year-old spinner, a veteran of seven Tests and 123 one-day internationals, retired from international cricket in 2008 but re-emerged as a Twenty20 specialist in last summer’s Big Bash League.

His turn: Aussie Brad Hogg bowls for Cape Cobras in the MiWay T20 Challenge match against New Age Impi at Benoni, South Africa in March this year. PIC/Getty Images

The Western Australian was included in Australia’s squad, which is the same as the T20 squad scheduled to play against Pakistan in the UAE in early September, along with Victorian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and injury prone speedster Pat Cummins.

Deep in depth
Head selector John Inverarity said: “The seam bowling has depth with Clint McKay, Pat Cummins, Ben Hilfenhaus and Mitch Starc along with all-rounders Shane Watson and Dan Christian, and to a lesser extent Michael Hussey, who could be useful for an occasional over or two.

“Similarly there is depth in the spin bowling department with Brad Hogg, Xavier Doherty and also all-rounders Glenn Maxwell and David Hussey. You can then add to that the possibility of the wrist spin of Cameron White and David Warner.

“There is a great deal of explosive strike power in the batting line-up that could see Matthew Wade at six, Cameron White at seven and either Dan Christian or Glenn Maxwell at eight.

“There is also a good blend of left and right-handers with David Warner, Michael Hussey and Wade likely to be in the top seven,” he said.

Australia’s Twenty20 players have three matches against Pakistan in Dubai on September 5, 7 and 10, before they fly to Sri Lanka for some warm-up matches ahead of the World T20, which starts on September 18.

Australia squad: G Bailey (capt), D Christian, P Cummins, X Doherty, B Hilfenhaus, B Hogg, D Hussey, M Hussey, G Maxwell, C McKay, M Starc, M Wade, D Warner, S Watson, C White  

Did you know?
Canada’s John Davison (40) and Kenya’s Steve Tikolo (39) were the oldies at the 2011 World Cup. Netherlands’ Nolan Clarke (47 in 1996) is the oldest ever WC player

Go to top