Clarke wins Allan Border Medal

Feb 05, 2013, 09:07 IST | Agencies

Australian captain Michael Clarke won his fourth Allan Border Medal as the nation's cricketer of the year at a gala ceremony here yesterday

Clarke, 31, and his predecessor as captain Ricky Ponting, are the only players to win the medal, considered Australian cricket’s most prestigious individual prize, four times. The Test and one-day skipper won for the second straight year with 198 votes, ahead of joint runners-up Mike Hussey and two-time winner Shane Watson, who each polled 165 votes.

Michael Clarke kisses his wife Kyly after winning the Allan Border Medal at Crown Palladium in Melbourne yesterday. Pic/Getty Images

Clarke also won the Test cricketer of the year award, for the second year in a row. Watson won the T20 award and also polled well for the one-day honour, which was won by paceman Clint McKay. Top-order batsman Phil Hughes, who moved from NSW to South Australia ahead of the season, was named the domestic player of the year, and Queensland batsman Joe Burns was voted the Bradman young cricketer of the year.

Go to top